WHITEHORSE – Leave No Bridge Unburned

Album: Leave No Bridge Unburned

Artist: Whitehorse

Label: Six Shooter

Release Date: February 17, 2015

Whitehorse 11-25



Given their intimate relationship that comes with cohabitation, husband/wife combos are frequently accompanied by a unique yin and yang. No wonder then that Leave No Bridge Unburned, the third album by the Canadian duo led by multi-talented spouses Luke Doucet and Melissa McClelland, is a decidedly dark affair, one marked by raging rhythms and a somewhat stealth-like demeanor. Nevertheless, the Polaris Prize-nominated pair seem fond of purveying their angular melodies with a razor-sharp edge.

That’s especially true of songs like “Baby What’s Wrong?” and “You Get Older,” which find McClelland’s sultry vocals and Doucet’s imaginative guitar spinning a seductive web of elusive intents. The dreamy duet “Dear Irony” and the bluesy Fleetwood Mac-sounding “The One I Hurt” each add to the mystique, although as the proceedings wind down, Whitehorse gallops down the final stretch with full frenzy. Indeed, closing entries, “Oh Dolores” and “The Walls Have Drunken Ears,” provide the album with its most emphatic impressions, leaving no bridge untethered.

 DOWNLOAD: “The One I Hurt,” “Oh Dolores,” “Baby What’s Wrong?”

Leave a Reply