Ian Moore and the Lossy Coils – El Sonido Nuevo

January 01, 1970

(Spark & Shine)




Despite the fact he’s chalked up a
two-decade recording career, Ian Moore opts for a relatively new tack here.
Starting out with a reverence for the blues, Moore reinvented himself recently
by taking a turn towards a hard rocking approach that also incorporates a
decided pop posture. As a result, this new album is emblazed with relentless
riffing and scorching refrains, tailor made for stadium shows and an audience
of air guitar enthusiasts. Catchy is the key word here, given the abundance of
infectious melodies and punchy tempos.


Moore and his two colleagues,
bassist Matt Harris and drummer Kyle Schneider, have all the makings of a
typical power trio, the punchy, propulsive barnburners leveled with
unapologetic enthusiasm. They make an emphatic impression straight from the
start, as expressed in the relentless rocker “Secondhand Store,” the
finger-snapping dynamic of “Tap the Till” and ever-dynamic surge of “Birds of
Prey.”  The energy is infused throughout, maintaining the momentum all the
way through to the finish, and given the insistent stomp of “The Levees” and
the boogie-like shuffle driving “Let Me Out,” success is assured. The result
becomes a riveting rollercoaster ride that’s as captivating as it is


DOWNLOAD: “Secondhand Store,” “Tap the Till” “Let Me Out” LEE

Leave a Reply