Danger Mouse & Sparklehorse – Dark Night of the Soul

January 01, 1970

(Capitol Records)




Just by reading the credits – Danger Mouse, Sparklehorse, David Lynch,
Flaming Lips, Iggy Pop, Frank Black, Julian Casablancas, James Mercer, Suzanne
Vega – you know this is either gonna be really cool or a half-baked slapped
together mix tape compilations. Pfhhh! Danger Mouse would never let
that happen and his production (which is somehow both vintage and futuristic at
the same time) is the silver thread that ties this somber beast together.


Although it rarely gets particularly heavy, even with the sympathetic
strings, airy static bleeps and swells of orchestral harmony, this is a dark album
about lonely people searching for connection. If Wayne Coyne singing about
“bringing you fuckers down” or Vic Chesnutt talking about
“cutting a baby out” doesn’t do you in, David Lynch’s creepy ass
cinematic delivery surely will. And you have to dig how Danger Mouse makes you
feel like you snorted an OxyContin during Jason Lytle’s (Grandaddy) powerful
performance on “Everytime I’m With You.”


Initially, EMI had blocked the release of the album – which had been slated
for early August of 2009 – for undisclosed reasons, leaving fans to seek out
the music via underground avenues. (Dark night indeed.) A number of
publications, BLURT included, went ahead and published reviews since those
“underground avenues” were numerous enough to make the record nearly as widely
available as any official release. (It had even been streamed at one point via
NPR Music.


After some time, the impasse was resolved, although in the interim, sadly,
Mark Linkous, aka Sparklehorse, committed suicide for unrelated reasons. Danger
Mouse recently issued a statement that said, in part, “I told Mark that we’d
worked things out with EMI back in January and he was very happy that the album
was finally going to be released this year.  Mark meant a great deal to a
lot of people and I’m grateful to have made music with him and to be a part of
his legacy.”


Standout Tracks: “Revenge,” “Dark Night of


Leave a Reply