ALLEN CLAPP – Six Seasons EP

Album: Six Seasons EP

Artist: Allen Clapp

Label: Mystery Lawn Music/Minty Fresh

Release Date: November 11, 2016  /


The Upshot: Orange Peels dude offers up melodies and jangles galore on a six-song mini-album.


Those of us who are longtime fans of this California native know that we’re lucky. Lucky because when he’s not releasing records by his band, the Orange Peels, then he’ll hole up in his home studio and release a solo record like he’s done here. Allen has added two more seasons to the original four, so yeah, only six songs here but man, Six Seasons is a doozie.

It’s a varied and beautiful record with  Clapp playing (and singing ) everything on here. Song #1, “Moss Falls Like Rain” is classic Clapp, all jangly guitars, soaring vocals and lovely melodic keyboards while “Friend Collector” seems a bit more downtrodden, more minor key  and even adding in some bitterness lyrically (“I would do anything to go back to the way it was” and “You are the friend collector, you collected all of my friends”).  Later on “The Weight of Fallen Leaves” is another perfect snapshot of the California that Clapp loves to write about (he’s now up in the Santa Cruz mountains after years of being in the Bay Area).  The instrumentals, “Seasons 5 & 6 (parts I and II)  offer up  rebirth (and sound like some lost, classic 60’s band) and “New Again” is the most rockin’ one on here with slappy drums and more of that piano.

Experts agree, you can never go wrong with an Allen Clapp record!

DOWNLOAD: “Moss Falls Like Rain,” “Friend Collector,” “The Weight of Fallen Leaves”




Leave a Reply