Yo La Tengo Preps Deluxe Version of ’93 Classic “Painful”

Yo La

Hanukkah comes early! And see details about the YLT trivia question below – we here at BLURT know something about Yo La Tengo trivia contests… (-Ed.)

On December 2, Yo La Tengo will release “Extra Painful,” a deluxe 2XLP/2XCD reissue of their classic 1993 “Painful” LP with a whopping 12 bonus tracks (plus many more via download coupon), in celebration of their 30th anniversary as a band. Full details are below.

Additionally, the band are playing a series of shows in the coming months, including career-spanning 30th anniversary shows, an appearance at Austin’s Fun Fun Fun Fest, and their collaboration with filmmaker Sam Green, a sort of “live documentary” where Green narrates a film about futurist R. Buckminster Fuller’s life to the musical accompaniment of Yo La Tengo.


Sam Green & Yo La Tengo “The Love Song of R. Buckminster Fuller”:

10/29 State Theatre, Portland ME

10/30 Flynn Center, Burlington VT

11/07 Contemporary Arts Center, New Orleans LA

11/12 PuSh Festival, Vancouver BC

11/09 Fun Fun Fun Fest, Austin TX

30th Anniversary Shows

12/03 Town Hall, NY NY  w/ Antietam

12/04 Town Hall, NY NY  w/ The Feelies

12/05 9:30 Club, Washington DC  w/ Lambchop

12/06 Trocadero, Philadelphia PA  w/ Antietam


Pre-orders via the Matador store that correctly answer a trivia question will be eligible to win tickets to the Town Hall shows and a copy of every in-print YLT vinyl album: http://smarturl.it/ExtraPainful_LP


1. DoubleLP + 7″ + download coupon with extra tracks

2. Double CD + download coupon with extra tracks

3. Digital release is regular and bonus disc tracks, does NOT include download coupon bonus tracks


Disc 1: The original “Painful” album (not remastered)

Disc 2: “Extra Painful” – the bonus tracks

7″: “Shaker” / “For Shame Of Doing Wrong” – exact reproduction of original single

Download coupon: all the album tracks + 15 extra bonus tracks

Packaging: Double LP + 7″ (in picture sleeve) with ephemera, photos, reproduction of original ‘band-aid’ sticker, the first ‘YLT Gazette’ in 14 years, liner notes by Gerard Cosloy and the band


Disc 1: As on vinyl

Disc 2: As on vinyl

Download coupon: includes the 2 tracks from the “Shaker” 7″ as well as the 15 extra bonus tracks

Packaging includes a booklet with all the artwork in the vinyl package

Track listings:


1. Big Day Coming

2. From a Motel 6

3. Double Dare

4. Superstar-Watcher

5. Nowhere Near

6. Sudden Organ

7. A Worrying Thing

8. I Was The Fool Beside You For Too Long

9. The Whole Of The Law

10. Big Day Coming

11. I Heard You Looking

Extra Painful:

1. Nowhere Near (demo)

2. From A Motel 6 (live acoustic)

3. Tunnel Vision (unreleased instrumental demo)

4. Sudden Organ (demo)

5. Smart Window (unreleased Painful session)

6. Big Day Coming (live acoustic)

7. Slow Learner (unreleased demo)

8. Double Dare (demo)

9. A Worrying Thing (demo)

10. I Heard You Looking (live)


Shaker 7″:  A: Shaker

B: For Shame Of Doing Wrong [8-Track Version – the CD single contained a different version which is on the download coupon]


Leave a Reply