Vinyl Explosion Jumps the Shark as Spin Doctors’ LP Gets Reissued

Docs 2

Chris Barron’s extended family pledges to collectively buy up all those old Spin Docs CDs that continue to clog the 99 cent bins of record stores across the land… Hey, Mr. Music Industry, just because it was not available on LP during the CD era doesn’t automatically make it an item the world is itching to repurchase on vinyl now!

By Uncle Blurt

Some days we write the news, other days the news writes itself. And while we love the current upswing in vinyl interest (hell, we have 3 turntables right here in the office), this little bit of news about what is generally regarded as the worst album of the ’90s seems analogous to an appearance of one of the Horsemen Of The Apocalyse. Read on… hey, we just sneaked in the word “analog” in a news item about vinyl, did you spot it? Below, also, revisit the gooey glories of the video for the Docs’ “Little Miss Can’t Be Wrong.”


First Ever Domestic Press On Vinyl For Pocket Full of Kryptonite

“Originally pressed in 1991, the album sold over six million copies worldwide and was on Billboard’s pop chart for an incredible 115 straight weeks.

“There were many jam-oriented blues rockers in New York during the early ’90s, but only the Spin Doctors made it big. And they made it big because they not only could immerse themselves in a groove, but they also had concise pop skills. After nearly a year of solid touring, the Spin Doctors scored a huge success with the incessantly catchy ”Little Miss Can’t Be Wrong.” Full of the loose, leisurely three-chord pop/rock jams the Spin Doctors specialize in, Pocket Full of Kryptonite had been around for nearly a year when MTV and radio began playing ”Little Miss Can’t Be Wrong,” but once they started playing it, they couldn’t stop. The Spin Doctors became an overnight sensation, selling millions of albums around the world with Pocket Full of Kryptonite reaching #3 on the Billboard 200 albums chart.

“As a jam band in the vein of Blues Traveler and Phish, Spin Doctors built a grassroots following by playing anywhere and everywhere. After a live EP caught their early potential, they released this uncharacteristically tight debut album. Featuring several hits that could have appeared on a Steve Miller Band album, Kryptonite became an immediate frat-rock favorite. Thanks to a spotless production, the tight groove of ”Little Miss Can’t Be Wrong,” ”Two Princes,” and ”Jimmy Olsen’s Blues” immediately connected with audiences who seemed to find singer Chris Barron’s hapless hippie lyrics and goofy grin a winning combination.”

* To date 6,000,000+ sold
* Reached #3 on Billboard’s Top 200 in 1992
* #2 in the UK, #2 in Norway, #1 in Australia
* Album #95 on Billboard’s best of the decade (1990-1999)
* Five hit singles on one album!
* ”Little Miss Can’t Be Wrong” (the first single, Billboard Hot 100 #17, Album Rock #2 for 4 weeks);
* ”Two Princes” (the Grammy Award-nominated second single, Hot 100 #7, Album Rock #2 for 7 weeks);
* ”Jimmy Olsen’s Blues” (the third single, Hot 100 #78, Album Rock #8);
* ”What Time Is It?” (the fourth single, Album Rock #26);
* ”How Could You Want Him (When You Know You Could Have Me?)” (the fifth single, Album Rock #28).

Track Listing:
A1 Jimmy Olsen’s Blues 4:35
A2 What Time Is It? 4:49
A3 Little Miss Can’t Be Wrong 3:53
A4 Forty Of Fifty 4:23
A5 Refrigerator Car 4:44
A6 More Than She Knows 2:10
B1 Two Princes 4:16
B2 Off My Line 3:57
B3 How Could You Want Him (When You Know You Could Have Me?) 4:58
B4.a Shinbone Alley
B4.b Hard To Exist

1 thought on “Vinyl Explosion Jumps the Shark as Spin Doctors’ LP Gets Reissued

  1. Pingback: In rotation: 5/11/15 - The Vinyl District

Leave a Reply