Springsteen Preps Deluxe Box Set for “The River”


Product shot is above; watch the official album trailer below and listen to an unreleased song.

By Uncle Blurt

Regular readers of this magazine know your ol’ uncle’s love of all things Bruce Springsteen, so you probably saw this news item coming: December 4 will bring The Ties That Bind: The River Collection, a 4CD/3DVD (or 4CD/2Blu-ray) box set boasting remastered audio, loads of unreleased material, concert footage and a documentary. Boss fan site Backstreets reports that the announcement of the box was actually made on the eve of the 35th anniversary of the original 2LP’s release, Oct. 17, 1980—now that’s timely, eh?

“For longtime fans,” writes Backstreets, “the big draws will be more than two-and-a-half hours of stunning, multi-camera concert footage from the River tour’s stop in Tempe, Arizona, and 11 previously unreleased studio outtakes.” In addition to the original version of The River on CDs 1 and 2, CD3 will mark the first official release of the 1979 album forerunner The River: Single Album, while CD4 will comprise 22 studio outtakes of which half have never been officially released. The full tracklisting is below.

Meanwhile, the 60-min. documentary, The Ties that Bind, was made by Thom Zimny, who previously did a documentary to accompany the Born to Run 30th Anniversary Edition box. The live DVDs feature the legendary post-Reagan-election, nearly 3-hour 11/5/80 River concert in Arizona, plus additional tour rehearsal footage.

The package will include a thick, 148pp 10” x 12” coffeetable book loaded with photos, essays (one is by Springsteen himself), and reproductions of Springsteen notebooks and memorabilia. Click on the above Backstreets link for an in-depth look at the forthcoming set.

CD 1

The River – Record One

1. “The Ties That Bind”
2. “Sherry Darling”
3. “Jackson Cage”
4. “Two Hearts”
5. “Independence Day”
6. “Hungry Heart”
7. “Out In The Street”
8. “Crush On You”
9. “You Can Look (But You Better Not Touch)”
10. “I Wanna Marry You”
11. “The River”

CD 2

The River – Record Two

1. “Point Blank”
2. “Cadillac Ranch”
3. “I’m A Rocker”
4. “Fade Away”
5. “Stolen Car”
6. “Ramrod”
7. “The Price You Pay”
8. “Drive All Night”
9. “Wreck On The Highway”

CD 3

The River: Single Album

1. “The Ties That Bind”
2. “Cindy”
3. “Hungry Heart”
4. “Stolen Car” (Vs. 1)
5. “Be True”
6. “The River”
7. “You Can Look (But You Better Not Touch)” (Vs. 1)
8. “The Price You Pay”
9. “I Wanna Marry You”
10. “Loose End”

CD 4

The River: Outtakes

Record One

1. “Meet Me in the City”
2. “The Man Who Got Away”
3. “Little White Lies”
4. “The Time That Never Was”
5. “Night Fire”
6. “Whitetown”
7. “Chain Lightning”
8. “Party Lights”
9. “Paradise By The “C””
10. “Stray Bullet”
11. “Mr. Outside”

Record Two

12. “Roulette”
13. “Restless Nights”
14. “Where The Bands Are”
15. “Dollhouse”
16. “Living On The Edge Of The World”
17. “Take ’em As They Come”
18. “Ricky Wants A Man Of Her Own”
19. “I Wanna Be With You”
20. “Mary Lou”
21. “Held Up Without a Gun”
22. “From Small Things (Big Things One Day Come)”


The Ties That Bind (Documentary)


The River Tour, Tempe 1980

Concert – Part 1

1. “Born to Run”
2. “Prove It All Night”
3. “Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out”
4. “Jackson Cage”
5. “Two Hearts”
6. “The Promised Land”
7. “Out in the Street”
8. “The River”
9. “Badlands”
10. “Thunder Road”
11. “No Money Down”
12. “Cadillac Ranch”
13. “Hungry Heart”
14. “Fire”
15. “Sherry Darling”
16. “I Wanna Marry You”
17. “Crush on You”
18. “Ramrod”
19. “You Can Look (But You Better Not Touch)”


The River Tour, Tempe 1980

Concert – Part 2

1. “Drive All Night”
2. “Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)”
3. “I’m A Rocker”
4. “Jungleland”
5. “Detroit Medley”
6. “Where The Bands Are (Credits)”

BONUS: The River Tour Rehearsals

– Ramrod
– Cadillac Ranch
– Fire
– Crush On You
– Sherry Darling


Leave a Reply