Numero Group Dives into the Unwound Oeuvre This Fall

Unwound Numero Box

Noise fo’ what ails ya, from one of the Northwest greats. Watch album trailer video, below.

 By Blurt Staff

 Beginning on September 6, the ace archivists at Numero Group embark on a lengthy campaign to reissue the complete works of seminal Olympia, Washington, post-punk trio Unwound. Their seven albums – Fake Train, New Plastic Ideas, S/T, The Future Of What, Repetition, Challenge For Civilized Society, Leaves Turn Inside You – will be expanded, remastered, and annotated in typical Numero fashion. Up first, however: all of Unwound’s recorded output from 1991 and 1992, prior to their debut LP.

Kid Is Gone is the “unquiet portrait of primal Unwound before 1993’s Fake Train.” Early on the band had been been Giant Henry, Supertanker, and Cygnus X-1 featuring Justin Trosper, Vern Rumsey, and Brandt Sandeno’s “first restive years,” and it might’ve best prepared the indie-sphere for what Unwound became, had Sandeno’s split not stalled their planned debut. Part 1 in Numero’s 4-part reissue project, Kid Is Gone documents the signal chaos in Olympia’s fertile scene before Unwound’s turbulent noise hit stride, in unrevealed period photos, 34 tracks, and three LPs-cassette-only demos, early 7″s, a KAOS radio broadcast, material tracked live in a local basement, and all of what became 1994’s Unwound, on which the band’s prehistory plays.

 It’s not the first foray into post-punk for the Chicago-based Numero Group, which initially earned its rep via amazing compilations and reissues of rare funk and soul; slo-core legends Codeine recently fell under the Numero lens via the When I See The Sun 6LP/3CD collection. A trademark of quality, no less.




Side A

1. Bionic        

2. LD-50                                           

3. Lying At Best       

4. Stumbling Block

5. Whilst You’re A Head

6. Rubber Band Heart                                                                  

 Side B

1. Crab Nebula                                            

2. Caterpillar             

3. Miserific Condition                                               

4. Love And Fear                            

5. You Speak Jealousy      

 Side C

1. Antifreeze                                                 

2. Rising Blood                                            

3. Understand & Forget                                           

4. Fingertips                                                  

5. You Bite My Tongue                                                                  

6. Stuck In The Middle Of Nowhere Again                       

 Side D

1. Warmth     

2. Prospect               

3. Kid Is Gone                      

4. Kandy Korn Rituals

5. Against      

6. I’d Die To Know You                                                       

7. Sugarfit                                                      

 Side E           

1. Understand & Forget (KAOS session)

2. Miserific Condition (KAOS session)

3. Against (KAOS session)

4. Ape Skins (KAOS session)                  

5. Awkward (KAOS session)                     

 Side F

1. Antifreeze (Live)                          

2. Rising Blood (Live)                                                         

3. Prospect (Live)                                                                

4. Stuck In The Middle Of Nowhere Again (Live)            

5. Hating In D (Live)


Leave a Reply