Loop Returns w/1st New Material in 25 Years



Band also to do selected live dates, including an appearance at ATP. Hear a new track, below.

Towards the end of 2013 saw the reformation of one of the most revered and respected late ‘80s UK alternative bands, LOOP.  The group, founded by Robert Hampson, hadn’t played together since the early ‘90s but got together to curate a night at the legendary All Tomorrow’s Parties at Camber Sands.  US dates followed in 2014 and they then got back in the studio to start recording.  The result is three brand new releases coming over the next year.

The first release is ‘Array 1’, due June 22. ‘Precession’, ‘Aphelion’, ‘Coma’ and ‘Radial’ are the first songs to be heard from their recording session done in Sub Station Studios in Rosyth in Scotland with the current lineup of Robert Hampson (vocals/guitar), Hugo Morgan (bass), Wayne Maskell (drums) and Dan Boyd (guitar).  With only an early version of ‘Precession’ having had any previous outing (at a show at the Garage in London at the end of 2014), this is the very first new music from the band since their third album, 1990’s lost classic ‘A Gilded Eternity’.  Listen to ‘Precession’:

The next tracks will be released in the autumn in keeping with Loop’s previous habit of putting out music in batches, Hampson describes it as “one project, with the same concept, delivered in bulletins”.

This all ties in with a show at the Roundhouse in London on 28th June where they are part of the line-up of ATP’s Season at the Roundhouse. The event, curated by post rock band Mogwai to celebrate their 20th Anniversary, will be spread over six nights and see performances from the likes of Public Enemy, GZA, Godspeed You! Black Emperor and The Jesus and Mary Chain.

Loop CD

Leave a Reply