Let Your Hair Grow With Ty Segall

Ty Segall new

He’s the anti-Kanye! But you don’t need no convincin’ at this stage, right? Below, read some Segall hype that’s way more interesting than any of the Yeezus lyrics we’ve heard thus far…

It was a dark and stormy north coast night. On the horizon was the shadow of the Sleeper, his technicolor presence stretched across the land for all of the black and white world soon to see!

 The Ty Segall expedition gets farther and farther out with each and every record. And to every record, a tour – or three of four. For Ty, coming down off the Twins trip seemed like twice as far as it ever had been. He was a changed man, made different in the days between then and now, with more changes and big jumps dead ahead.

 Earlier this year, before checking out of his SF Mission digs and heading down the coast for a new way of living, Ty fired up his machines, hit play and wrung a last helping of blood from his rock, creating a new set of songs.

 Between two minds, between two places, on beyond Twins, Sleeper envisions a world of haves and have-nots. Sleeper is Ty-fi, for sure, engineered at home from beginning to end, the ultimate sonics accessed with a freak hand and an instinct for what makes a moment shine. Sleeper flows more colors than ever before through your mind’s eye, pushing the walls of the universe out just a micron further, making everything heavier and lighter all at once, to allow time to beam infinitely forever.

 But that was then – the date of revelation draws closer! Now can the true nature of Sleeper be seen! It stands before you, blending almost into the fleshly pattern of its host, brandished as if to say, “Let Your Hair Grow! Be What You Be!”

 Ty Segall’s Sleeper is out August 20th on Drag City. Sleeper tour is this August and September. More dates will announced in the coming months.

 Sleeper Tracklisting:

01. Sleeper

02. The Keepers

03. Crazy

04. The Man Man

05. She Don’t Care

06. Come Outside

07. 6th Street

08. Sweet C.C.

09. Queen Lullabye

10. The West

Ty Segall Tour Dates:

Fri. July 19 — Paris, FR @ City Sounds Festival (solo performance)

Thu. Aug. 1 — Santa Cruz, CA @ Catalyst Atrium w/ Daughn Gibson, Mike Donovan, William Tyler

Sat. Aug. 3 — Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon

Sun. Aug. 4 — Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon

Sat. Aug. 24 — Los Angeles, CA @ FYF Fest

Tue. Aug. 27 — Austin, TX @ Mohawk Outside

Thu. Aug. 29 — Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg w/ VietNam, David Novick

Fri. Aug. 30 — New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom w/ Chris Cohen, David Novick

Sat. Aug. 31 — Chicago, IL @ Logan Square Auditorium w/ Mike Donovan

Mon. Sep. 2 — San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall w/ Mike Donovan

Wed. Sep. 4 — Big Sur, CA @ Fernwood Tavern w/ Mike Donovan

Thu. Sep. 5 — Oakland, CA @ New Parish w/ Mike Donovan

Sat. Sep. 7 — Seattle, WA @ Neumo’s w/ Mike Donovan

Sun. Sep. 8 — Boise, ID @ Neurolux w/ Mike Donovan

Mon. Sep. 9 — Reno, NV @ Holland Project w/ Mike Donovan

Sun. Dec. 1 — Camber Sands, UK @ All Tomorrow’s Parties Festival

Leave a Reply