Led Zep I-III Deluxe Remasters Due in June; Ditto Box Sets

Led Zep

But will the long-rumored Record Store Day vinyl goodie also appear this year? Details below…

 By Bo Oswald

 After much speculation among fans and numerous teasing-but-leading interview comments from Robert Plant, the Led Zeppelin camp has confirmed, via Rhino, that en route are remastered (by Jimmy Page) reissues of the band’s iconic first three albums, 1969’s Led Zeppelin and Led Zeppelin II and 1970’s Led Zeppelin III. It kicks off a full reissue series on Atlantic/Swan Song that will bear the fruits of much vault-trawling by Page and Plant: in addition to being freshly remastered (the entire catalog was remastered for CD a decade or so ago, while more recently the albums were finally made available at digital streaming and download services), the titles will contain bonus tracks such as alternate mixes, an early live Paris concert previously available only on bootleg, and unreleased tracks “La La,” “Jennings Farm Blues,” Bathroom Sound” and “Keys to the Highway/Trouble in Mind.”

 Look for those three to drop June 3.

 It will also mark the first time the catalog has been made available on vinyl; currently, only the live set The Song Remains The Same is in print, alongside the compilation Mothership and the recent live reunion document Celebration Day. There will also be so-called “Deluxe Box Sets” available containing CD/vinyl/download copies, the bonus material and 70-page hardcover books. Check the full tracklisting below, and get more here at the Rhino blog. (Curiously, the Rhino details don’t provide any info about the “altered” LP sleeve art that is depicted above, but one can speculate that they might be the sleeve art for the second discs of each reissue.)

 MEANWHILE… speculation continues among fans and retailers that 2014’s Record Store Day, April 19, will finally bring a Led Zeppelin title in the form of the WEA group’s “Mystery Record.” Recall that last year it was the Grateful Dead and Dr. John on a split single with each artist doing “Iko Iko.” But it’s known that the RSD folks have been lobbying with Jimmy Page to do something for the annual event, and with those three reissues now officially on the horizon, it would seem that the stars may be aligning for an accompanying RSD release.



•    Single CD – Remastered album packaged in a gatefold card wallet.
•    Deluxe Edition (2CD) – Remastered album, plus a second disc of unreleased companion audio.
•    Single LP – Remastered album on 180-gram vinyl, packaged in a sleeve that replicates the LP’s first pressing in exacting detail. (For example, III will feature the original wheel and die cut holes.)
•    Deluxe Edition Vinyl – Remastered album and unreleased companion audio on 180-gram vinyl.
•    Digital Download – Remastered album and companion audio will both be available.
•    Super Deluxe Boxed Set – This collection includes:
o Remastered album on CD in vinyl replica sleeve.
o Companion audio on CD in card wallet.
o Remastered album on 180-gram vinyl in a sleeve replicating first pressing.
o Companion audio on 180-gram vinyl.
o High-def audio download card of all content at 96kHz/24 bit. (Live tracks are 48kHz/24 bit).
o Hard bound, 70+ page book filled with rare and previously unseen photos and memorabilia.
o High quality print of the original album cover, the first 30,000 of which will be individually numbered.
o Led Zeppelin will also include a replica of the band’s original Atlantic press kit.


 Led Zeppelin:

Disc 1:

1 Good Times Bad Times
2 Babe I’m Gonna Leave You
3 You Shook Me
4 Dazed and Confused
5 Your Time Is Gonna Come
6 Black Mountain Side
7 Communication Breakdown
8 I Can’t Quit You Baby
9 How Many More Times

Disc 2: Live At The Olympia – Paris, France, October 10, 1969:

1 Good Times Bad Times/Communication Breakdown
2 I Can’t Quit You Baby
3 Heartbreaker
4 Dazed and Confused
5 White Summer/Black Mountain Side
6 You Shook Me
7 Moby Dick
8 How Many More Times

Led Zeppelin II:

Disc 1:

1 Whole Lotta Love
2 What Is and What Should Never Be
3 The Lemon Song
4 Thank You
5 Heartbreaker
6 Living Loving Maid (She’s Just a Woman)
7 Ramble On
8 Moby Dick

Disc 2:

1 Whole Lotta Love (alternate mix)
2 What Is and What Should Never Be (alternate mix)
3 Thank You (backing track)
4 Heartbreaker (alternate mix)
5 Living Loving Maid (She’s Just a Woman) (backing track)
6 Ramble On (alternate mix)
7 Moby Dick (alternate mix)
8 La La (previously unreleased)

Led Zeppelin III:

Disc 1:

1 Immigrant Song
2 Friends
3 Celebration Day
4 Since I’ve Been Loving You
5 Out on the Tiles
6 Gallows Pole
7 Tangerine
8 That’s the Way
9 Bron-Y-Aur Stomp
10 Hats Off to (Roy) Harper

Disc 2:

1 The Immigrant Song (studio outtake)
2 Friends (studio outtake)
3 Celebration Day (studio outtake)
4 Since I’ve Been Loving You (studio outtake)
5 Bathroom Sound (previously unreleased instrumental version of “Out on the Tiles”)
6 Gallows Pole (studio outtake)
7 That’s the Way (studio outtake)
8 Jennings Farm Blues (previously unreleased instrumental version of “Bron-Yr-Aur Stomp”)
9 Keys to the Highway/Trouble in Mind

Leave a Reply