Incoming: New Tomas Barfod LP; Listen to Special Mini-mix


Lauded electronic artist will also be touring as a DJ this spring.

 After the release of the Pulsing EP last month, Tomas Barfod has announced a new album Love Me for release on June 10th via Secretly Canadian. It’s the official followup to 2012’s Salton Sea. To celebrate the release Barfod has made a mini-mix from the album, featuring new music from the album. Listen to the mini-mix here.

 Utilizing a supporting cast that includes a string and brass section, and the likes of Here We Go Magic’s Luke Temple and long-term collaborator Nina Kinert on vocal duties, it’s being called “a multi-layered album that effortlessly pushes and pulls pop and electronic music into a myriad different shapes.”

 “Salton Sea was a bit more of a laptop album whereas with this new one I spent more time working with analogue gear and bringing in string arrangers and using Jeppe’s guitar playing,” he says, referencing his bandmate. “I’ve been getting into more vintage synthesizers on this new one too. I think there’s a bit more of a focus on the songs.” While still keeping his debut’s intimate delicacy and beautiful sense of fragility, this follow-up is also more audacious, as showcased on the sweeping strings of the lovely ‘Aftermath’. “The first one was done kind of randomly when I had some time. This one I had a budget so I had the chance to do some things I normally wouldn’t be able to do. I feel like I’ve had much more time and the chance to notch everything up a bit.”

1. Bell House (Feat. Luke Temple)
2. Pulsing (Feat. Nina K)
3. Destiny’s Child
4. Busy Baby (Feat. Nina K)
5. Honey (Feat. Sleep Party People)
6. Blue Matter (Feat. Jeppe Kjellberg)
7. Waiting For Us (Feat. Nina K)
8. Mandalay
9. Sell You (Feat. Night Beds)
10. Lost (Feat. Pell)

 DJ sets: 4/3: New York, NY @ Studio at Webster Hall *
4/4: Philadelphia, PA @ The Dolphin *
4/5: Miami, FL @ The Garret *

Leave a Reply