Incoming: New Des Ark Album


Due early October… listen to a new track below.

By Barbi Martinez, Blurt Intern

North Carolina’s beloved Des Ark—aka Aimée Collet Argote—is prepping here third full length, due out Oct. 9 on Graveface and to be titled Everything Dies. Over at Noisey a new song was unveiled last month, and buzz seems to be growing, not the least of which involves the who’s-who of collaborators and engineers. Among them: Andy Lemaster (Bright Eyes/Drive By Truckers), Jonathan Fuller (Engine Down/Denali), Brian Paulson (Wilco/Beck), Jordan Geiger (Shearwater/Hospital Ships), Taylor Holenbeck (Appleseed Cast) and Thor Harris (Swans).


We are advised:

During the last decade, Aimée Collet Argote has had more bands called Des Ark than she has albums under that name. She’s howled and jerked in sweaty houses and rock clubs, backed by a drummer, another drummer, yet another drummer and a second guitarist, and a small symphony. She’s brought big crowds to a whisper with nothing but her voice and a banjo or a tiny guitar that kept slipping out of tune. And though it perennially confuses the crap out of crowds expecting one thing & getting the other, she somehow manages to maintain these two separate Des Ark’s — different songs, utterly different audience experiences — and the dissonance & tension in turn somehow bind together in a brilliant display of songwriting. 

Well, all right then! Des Ark spent late spring and early summer touring, so expect plenty of concert action this fall.

Leave a Reply