Incoming: Massive 6-CD Jam Box Set


That’s entertainment, yo.

By Blurt Staff

It’s not due until October 30 but Jam and Paul Weller fans are already drooling: that would be the 6-dic Fire And Skill: The Jam Live box, en route via Polydor. It essentially revisits the group’s career via a chronological trawl through the Jam’s concert archive. Full details and tracklisting are as follow:


  1. Starting with an early gig at London’s famous 100 Club from 1977, the show featured took place 10 months after they first played the venue in November 1976, and was recorded for broadcast on American radio ahead of the trio’s inaugural visit to U.S. in October 1977 for a six-date tour.

2. A Music Machine show from 1978 featuring most of the band’s 2nd album – This Is The Modern World. This was The Jam’s sixth live show of the year and one of four low-key shows in the capital to fanfare their new “News Of The World” single under the banner ‘The London Blitz.’


  1. Reading University – February 1979. Playing material from their breakthrough album All Mod Cons, this was The Jam’s first live appearance of 1979.


  1. Newcastle City Hall – October 1980. This show previews songs from The Jam’s forthcoming album Sound Affects. In the time between the show at Reading University (on Disc 3) and this appearance at Newcastle City Hall 20 months later, Setting Sons, their fourth album, had given them the Top 3 UK hit “The Eton Rifles,” which was followed in February 1980 with the stirring No. 1 UK single, “Going Underground.” After three years on Polydor, The Jam had finally become the biggest group in the UK.


  1. London’s legendary Hammersmith Palais – December 1981. Part of The Jam’s four consecutive nights, previewing material from the forthcoming final album The Gift.


  1. One of the band’s final ever gigs at Wembley Arena – December 1982. Late in 1982 The Jam announced they were splitting up with a 14-date ‘farewell’ tour announced. The centrepiece was a five-night stand at Wembley Arena, the 10,000-capacity shed next to the London football stadium (the recording here is from the second date), the biggest live venue in the capital.


* Packaged in mini, lift-off lid box with 72-page, color hard-back book.

* Individual gatefold wallets for the discs, designed as facsimiles of the original tape boxes.

* Includes new essay, period photos, rare memorabilia and set of five postcard prints.

* Remastered at Abbey Road.

* Featuring live versions of all the band’s classic hits, of which only 11 tracks were  previously released.




Track Listing:

Disc One

Live at the 100 Club – September 11, 1977

  1. I’ve Changed My Address
  2. Carnaby Street
  3. The Modern World
  4. Time For Truth
  5. So Sad About Us
  6. London Girl
  7. In The Street Today
  8. Standards
  9. All Around The World
  10. London Traffic
  11. Heat Wave
  12. Sweet Soul Music (b-side of ‘Modern Word’ single)
  13. Bricks And Mortar (b-side of ‘Modern Word’ single)
  14. In The City
  15. Art School
  16. Back In My Arms Again (b-side of ‘Modern Word’ single)
  17. Slow Down
  18. In The Midnight Hour
  19. Sounds From The Street
  20. Takin’ My Love
  21. In The City (encore)


Disc Two

Live at the Music Machine – March 2, 1978

  1. The Modern World
  2. London Traffic
  3. I Need You
  4. The Combine
  5. Aunties And Uncles
  6. Standards
  7. Here Comes The Weekend
  8. Sounds From The Street
  9. News Of The World
  10. London Girl
  11. In The Street Today
  12. Bricks And Mortar
  13. In The Midnight Hour
  14. Carnaby Street
  15. All Around The World
  16. Slow Down
  17. News Of The World (Sound-check – bonus track)


Disc Three

Live at Reading University – February 16, 1979

  1. The Modern World
  2. Sounds From The Street
  3. Away From The Numbers
  4. All Mod Cons To Be Someone
  5. It’s Too Bad
  6. Mr Clean
  7. Billy Hunt
  8. In The Street Today
  9. Standards (Originally released on ‘Dig The New Breed’ album 1982)
  10. Tonight At Noon
  11. Down In The Tube Station At Midnight
  12. News Of The World
  13. Here Comes The Weekend
  14. Bricks And Mortar / Batman
  15. The Place I Love
  16. David Watts
  17. Heat Wave
  18. ‘A’ Bomb In Wardour Street


Disc Four

Live at Newcastle City Hall – October 28, 1980

  1. Intro
  2. Dreamtime
  3. Thick As Thieves
  4. Boy about Town
  5. Monday
  6. Going Underground
  7. Pretty Green
  8. Man In The Corner Shop
  9. Set The House Ablaze
  10. Private Hell
  11. Liza Radley
  12. Dreams Of Children
  13. The Modern World
  14. Little Boy Soldiers
  15. But I’m Different Now
  16. Start!
  17. Scrape Away
  18. Strange Town
  19. When You’re Young
  20. The Eton Rifles
  21. Billy Hunt
  22. Down In The Tube Station At Midnight
  23. To Be Someone
  24. ‘A’ Bomb In Wardour Street
  25. David Watts


Disc Five

Live at Hammersmith Palais – December 14, 1981

  1. The Gift / Down In The Tube Station At Midnight
  2. Man In The Corner Shop (originally released on ‘Live Jam’ album 1993)
  3. Ghosts
  4. Absolute Beginners
  5. Town Called Malice (originally released on ‘Live Jam’ album 1993)
  6. Set The House Ablaze (Originally released on ‘Dig The New Breed’ album 1982)
  7. That’s Entertainment / Tales From The River Bank
  8. Precious
  9. Happy Together
  10. In The Crowd / David Watts
  11. Boy About Town
  12. Pretty Green
  13. Funeral Pyre (originally released on ‘Live Jam’ album 1993)
  14. Circus
  15. Going Underground
  16. Big Bird (Originally released on ‘Dig The New Breed’ album 1982)
  17. Little Boy Soldiers


Disc Six

Live at Wembley Arena – 2nd December 1982

  1. Start!
  2. It’s Too Bad
  3. Beat Surrender
  4. Away From The Numbers
  5. Ghosts
  6. In The Crowd
  7. Boy About Town
  8. Get Yourself Together
  9. All Mod Cons
  10. To Be Someone
  11. Smithers-Jones
  12. The Great Depression
  13. Move On Up
  14. When You’re Young
  15. David Watts
  16. Private Hell
  17. Down In The Tube Station At Midnight
  18. Mr Clean
  19. Trans-Global Express
  20. Going Underground
  21. The Butterfly Collector (originally released on ‘Live Jam’ album 1993)
  22. Dreams Of Children
  23. The Gift


Leave a Reply