Incoming: Covers-Heavy Unreleased Jeff Buckley Album


Dylan, Sly, Louis Jordan, Jevetta Steele, Smiths, Bukka White and Led Zep… what’s not to like?

By Barbi Martinez, Blurt Intern

Hallelujah! Anyone listening to NPR’s “Morning Edition” today (Nov. 12) who is also a Jeff Buckley fan got a bit of a thrill as critic Ann Powers disclosed the Spring arrival, on March 16, of You and I, a 10-track collection of very early, pre-Sony, recordings comprising 8 covers and two Buckley originals. You can go HERE to read Powers’ comments about Buckley and listen to the broadcast (which featured snippets of his Sly Stone and one of two Smiths covers). The complete version of Stone’s “Everyday People” is there as well. Here’s the complete tracklisting.

1 Just Like A Woman (Bob Dylan cover)
2 Everyday People (Sly & The Family Stone cover)
3 Don’t Let The Sun Catch You Cryin’ (First recorded by Louis Jordan)
4 Grace (original)
5 Calling You (Jevetta Steele cover)
6 Dream Of You And I (original)
7 The Boy With The Thorn In His Side (The Smiths cover)
8 Poor Boy Long Way From Home (traditional blues song, Bukka White cover)
9 Night Flight (Led Zeppelin cover)
10 I Know It’s Over (The Smiths cover)



Leave a Reply