Gov’t Mule Prep Vol. 2 “Stoned Side” Vinyl Release, Share Track


Followup to sold out Vol. 1 gets synched up as a two-fer 2LP set for April 20.

By Blurt Staff

Once again Gov’t Mule has delved into its vaults for Stoned Side Of The Mule, featuring the band’s ace live covers of, you guessed it, Rolling Stones. Released last fall for Record Store Day’s Black Friday event, it was an instant sellout and went on to eBay fame, so to speak. Go HERE to read our review of Volume 1 – or even HERE to read our review of their Pink Floyd set, Dark Side of the Mule.

So Volume 2 of Stoned Side is now incoming for April, and the Mule has decided to pair it with Volume 1 in a deluxe limited edition, 2-LP gatefold sleeve, 180-gram goodie. Like its predecessor, it was recorded during the group’s 2009 Halloween show at the Tower Theatre in Philly and features guests Jackie Greene on guitar and Steve Elson on sax. It’s released on April 20.

Below, check out their version of “Monkey Man” and also the full tracklisting.


A1 Under My Thumb

A2 Monkey Man

A3 Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)

A4 Paint It Black

B1 Angie

B2 Ventilator Blues

B3 Shattered

C1 Wild Horses

C2 Bitch

C3 Slave

D1 Play With Fire

D2 Can’t You Hear Me Knocking

D3 Brown Sugar

Leave a Reply