Charley Pride to Receive Ameripolitan Masters Award


3rd Annual Ameripolitan Music Awards slated for next Feb. in Austin, natch.

The 3rd Annual Ameripolitan Music Awards will be held Tuesday, February 16th, 8:00 pm at Austin’s Paramount Theatre. Past Ameripolitan winner Ray Benson will serve as host, and Charley Pride (Master Award) will join Wanda Jackson (Founder of the Sound) and Red Simpson (Founder of the Sound) as special award recipients.

“Charley Pride is the first living male to ever receive the Ameripolitan Masters Award, preceded only by the amazing Ray Price, who was instrumental in creating the awards,” said Dale Watson, founder of the Ameripolitan Awards, in a statement. “Charley Pride’s music spans several generations, blazed new trails, and has never compromised his roots. This makes him perfect for the highest honor we can bestow, the Ameripolitan Master Award.”

Artists slated to perform at this year’s ceremony include Charley Pride, Wanda Jackson, Red Simpson, Billy Joe Shaver, James Hand, Doyle and Debbie, Georgette Jones, Justin Trevino, Rosie Flores, Whitey Morgan, Kim Lenz, Charlie Thompson, The Country Side of Harmonica Sam, Jason Roberts, Unknown Hinson, and other special guests.


Voting online or by app is available now through December 26, 2015. Winners will be announced live during the 3rd Annual Ameripolitan Music Awards on Tuesday, February 16, 2016.

Fans may vote in the following categories: Honky Tonk – Female, Male, Group; Western Swing – Female, Male, Group; Rockabilly – Female, Male, Group; Outlaw – Female, Male, Group; Ameripolitan DJ; Ameripolitan Venue; Ameripolitan Festival; and Ameripolitan Musician. A full list of nominees can be found here.

Ticket details:

Leave a Reply