Blitzen Trapper Drops Surprise (Free!) Live Album


Today, out of the blue, Blitzen Trapper announced their first ever live album, Live In Portland, made available as a free holiday gift to their fans via BandCamp. The 17-track album was recorded over three shows at the Doug Fir Lounge in Portland, OR on November 29th and 30th of 2013 on the VII tour.

Fans can download the album for free or pay what they wish here:

Cofounder and frontman Eric Earley, on the sudden release: “As much as I love studio recording, the live show is where it’s at these days.  So much of what Blitzen Trapper means is contained in our live shows, in the energy we try to convey and the stories I’m telling.  This is our first release of any live material and it’s got everything I like about our live show, it’s intimate, it’s messy and it’s grounded in our interaction on stage, just these guys that grew up together playing songs and messing around on a stage.  This is for all the fans who’ve seen us and know that when we’re performing we’re trying to give as much as we possibly can.  So it’s also our gift to the fans, a free live thing for the Holidays.  Hope you all enjoy it as much as we did playing it.”

For a teaser, also stream the track ‘Wild Mountain Nation’:

Blitzen Trapper will begin recording their eighth studio album in early 2015. Tracklisting for the live set:


  1. Astronaut
  2. Thirsty Man
  3. Jericho
  4. Shine On
  5. Black River Killer
  6. Lady On the Water
  7. Furr
  8. Not Your Lover
  9. American Goldwing
  10. God And Suicide
  11. Valley of Death
  12. Sleepytime In The Western World
  13. Wild Mountain Nation
  14. Miss Spiritual Tramp
  15. Might Find It Cheap

Bonus Track:

  1. Street Fighting Sun


Leave a Reply