Blind Idiot God Returns; New LP Produced by Bill Laswell

Blind Idiot God

Slated for early 2015 release from the heavy skronk merchants.

By Blurt Staff

Indivisible Music is eyeing a release date sometime early next year for a new Blind Idiot God (BIG) studio album co-produced by Bill Laswell. “Andy Hawkins is a nut, a perfectionist for his amplification and the guitar, and we recorded it right,” Laswell explains about the new record. “Every detail is there. It’s probably the best thing they’ve done.”

The 74-minute opus titled Before Ever After will boast gatefold double-vinyl LP artwork created by artist Seldon Hunt (Neurosis, Earth, Melvins, Sunn). The band: Hawkins on guitar and Tim Wyskida (Khanate) on drums; Gabe Katz, the band’s original bass player is featured on the album but moving forward Will Dahl is the band’s new bass player live and in the studio. “Moving from the studio to the stage is always great,” Hawkins explains, of the band’s intent to tour throughout 2015. “The music opens up dynamically, both performance wise and sonically. The human ear has a much greater dynamic range than any recorded medium and we excel at taking full advantage of that fact.”

The band has three previous studio full-lengths, two EPs and has been featured on several film soundtracks, including the opening credits for the Alex Winter cult film Freaked (with Henry Rollins on the track as guest vocalist). “I was able to record with them once,” says Rollins, “I know it is rare for them to have vocals in their music, so I felt lucky to have been an exception. I remain a fan.” Three tracks from the album (“Barrage,” “High And Mighty,” and “Shutdown”) are featured in Alex Winters’ new HBO documentary about the rise and fall of Napster titled, Downloaded. “One of the most revered and influential bands to come out of the SST era,” Alex Winter enthuses, “they are as great and bold today, as ever. This is a spectacular album.”


  1. “Twenty Four Hour Dawn,” 2. “Night Driver,” 3. “Antiquity,” 4. “Earthmover,” 5. “FUB,” 6. “Barrage,” 7. “High and Mighty,” 8. “Voice of the Structure,” 9. “Under the Weight,” 10. “Ramshackle,” 11. “Wheels of Progress,” 12. “Strung,” and 13. “Shutdown.”


Leave a Reply