Americana Music Association Announces 2015 Nominees


Lucinda Williams, Sturgill Simpson, Shakey Graves Lead Nominations (Photo L-R: Abi Tapia, Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum; Joey Ryan and Kenneth Pattengale, Milk Carton Kids; Nikki Lane; Jed Hilly, Executive Director Americana Music Association; Abigail Washburn; Bela Fleck; and John Hiatt)

The Americana Music Association announced the nominees for its 14th annual Honors & Awards show today at a press conference held at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum’s Ford Theater. Hosted by the Milk Carton Kids — winners of the 2014 Americana Music Award for Duo/Group of the Year — the Nissan-sponsored event revealed show’s six categories including Album, Artist, Emerging Artist, Song, Duo/Group and Instrumentalist.

The ceremony was attended by industry, press and Americana Music Association membership, and streamed live by long-time partner, Music City Roots. Performances by the Milk Carton Kids, Nikki Lane, John Hiatt, Bela Fleck and Abigail Washburn rounded out the event.

The Americana Music Association’s celebrates its 16th annual Festival and Conference, Sept. 14 – 20, with the 14th Annual Honors & Awards set for Wednesday, Sept. 16th at the Ryman Auditorium.


Full list of this year’s nominees and categories:

Album of the Year
And The War Came – Shakey Graves; Produced by Alejandro Rose-Garcia and Chris Boosahda
Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone – Lucinda Williams; Produced by Lucinda Williams, Tom Overby and Greg Leisz
Metamodern Sounds In Country Music – Sturgill Simpson; Produced by Dave Cobb
The Way I’m Livin’ -Lee Ann Womack; Produced by Frank Liddell
Tomorrow Is My Turn – Rhiannon Giddens; Produced by T-Bone Burnett

Artist of the Year
Rhiannon Giddens
Jason Isbell
Sturgill Simpson
Lucinda Williams
Lee Ann Womack

Duo/Group of the Year
Bela Fleck & Abigail Washburn
The Lone Bellow
The Mavericks
Punch Brothers
Shovels & Rope

Emerging Artist of the Year
First Aid Kit
Nikki Lane
Doug Seegers
Shakey Graves

Instrumentalist of the Year
Hubby Jenkins
Laur Joamets
Greg Leisz
John Leventhal
Stuart Mathis

Song of the Year
“Dearly Departed” – Shakey Graves; Written by Alejandro Rose-Garcia and Esme’ Patterson
“East Side Of Town” – Lucinda Williams; Written by Lucinda Williams
“Terms Of My Surrender” – John Hiatt; Written by John Hiatt
“Turtles All The Way Down” – Sturgill Simpson; Written by Sturgill Simpson
“You’re The Best Lover That I Ever Had” – Steve Earle & the Dukes; Written by Steve Earle


Photo Credit: Terry Wyatt / Getty Images for 2015 American Honors And Awards

Leave a Reply