2014 Americana Awards: Jason Isbell Reigns Supreme!

Americana Music Festival & Conference Award Show - Show, Audience & Backstage

Something about that BLURT artist of the year just keeps resonating with the music world…

Jason Isbell was the big winner at last night’s (Sept. 18) 13th Annual Americana Honors & Awards show held at the historic Ryman Auditorium, picking up honors for Artist of the Year, Album of the Year (for Southeastern, produced by Dave Cobb) and Song of the Year (for “Cover Me Up,” which he performed with his wife Amanda Shires).

Isbell stood tall among a cross section of legends and upstarts that performed on the show, among them Lifetime Achievement honorees Loretta Lynn, Jackson Browne, Flaco Jimenez and Taj Mahal, as well as Rodney Crowell, Rosanne Cash, Patty Griffin, Robert Plant, Cassandra Wilson, Marty Stuart, Hurray for the Riff Raff, the McCrary Sisters, Devil Makes Three, Hard Working Americans, Sturgill Simpson, Valerie June, Parker Milsap, Ry Cooder and more. Jim Lauderdale hosted.

The evening kicked off at 7:00 P.M. CT with the presentation of the Lifetime Achievement Honor for Songwriting to Lynn by two of her contemporary devotees, Angaleena Presley and Kacey Musgraves. Lynn followed with a performance of her classic, “Coal Miner’s Daughter,” eliciting a standing ovation from the packed house. Also being honored during the show for Lifetime Achievement were Jimenez in the Instrumentalist category, who was feted by friend Ry Cooder; Taj Mahal, who was honored in the Performance category by contemporary blues and folk artist Keb’Mo’; and Browne, who was honored with the Spirit of Americana Lifetime Achievement Award by his Southern California compatriate J.D. Souther and the First Amendment Center’s Ken Paulson. All of the honorees performed after being awarded. Jimenez performed “Ingrato Amor” and Tal Mahal played “Skateboard Blues.” Browne offered the audience two songs, “Fountain of Sorrow” from his 1974 release Late for the Sky, and “The Long Way Around.”

Americana Music Festival & Conference Award Show - Show, Audience & Backstage

With a dozen awards given, including the President’s Award to The Jimmie Rodgers Museum in Meridian, Mississippi to honor “the father of country music,” it was performances that filled in the bulk of the show’s three-hour running time. Following Lynn’s award and performance, last year’s Album of the Year co-winner Crowell – he and Harris won in 2013 for Old Yellow Moon – joined – Ry Cooder, for a performance of “God, I’m Missing You.” – The 21-year-old Emerging Artist nominee Milsap followed with a performance of “Truck Stop Gospel” from his 2014 self-titled debut.

Duo/Group of the Year nominee Devil Makes Three performed “Hand Back Down;” Hurray for the Riff Raff, the New Orleans-based “punk-rock influenced acoustic band, with an ethnically diverse, evolving membership” according to the Wall Street Journal, performed “Body Electric;” Emerging Artist nominee June performed “You Can’t Be Told;” Robert Ellis offered “Only Lies,” and Cash, gave the audience a rendition of “A Feather’s Not A Bird” from her 2013 release, The River and the Thread.

Other performance highlights included rock icon Plant, a previous Americana Award winner, joining Griffin for “Ohio;” Hard Working Americans featuring Elizabeth Cook performing Colin Linden and Kevin Gordon’s “Down to The Well;” Sarah Jarosz performing “Fuel the Fire,” Duo/Group winners The Milk Carton Kids performing “Snake Eyes” in their signature two guitar style, and St. Paul and the Broken Bones, introduced by John Paul White, formerly of The Civil Wars, performing “Grass is Greener.”

Wilson, introduced by Paul Thorn, offered “I Want to be Loved” and Stuart, in tribute to Rodgers, performed “No Hard Time.” Emerging Artist winner Simpson rocked through “Life of Sin” from his latest release, Metamodern Sounds in Country Music.

Lucinda Williams and Josh Ritter closed the night’s awards out with the Album of the Year presentation to Isbell. The all-star finale included Cash, Joe Henry, Ry Cooder and more joining the house band for the Johnny Cash classic “Get Rhythm.”

The show was dedicated to the memory of founding council member of the Americana Music Association, Jack Emerson .

Americana Music Honors & Awards 2014 Winners:

Album of the Year: Southeastern, Jason Isbell, Producer Dave Cobb
Artist of the Year: Jason Isbell
Duo Group of the Year: The Milk Carton Kids
Song of the Year: “Cover Me Up,” Jason Isbell
Emerging Artist of the Year: Sturgill Simpson
Instrumentalist of the year: Buddy Miller
Spirit of Americana / Free Speech in Music Award co-presented by the Americana Music Association and the First Amendment Center: Jackson Browne
Lifetime Achievement for Instrumentalist: Flaco Jimenez
Lifetime Achievement for Performance: Taj Mahal
Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriter: Loretta Lynn
President’s Award: Jimmie Rodgers / Award Presented to Jimmie Rodgers Museum in Meridian, MS


Leave a Reply