BLURT HEADS TO AUSTIN 2016!

 

BlurtLogo

We plan to do it up right again at the Ginger Man Pub, natch, along with our sponsor Karbach Brewing. Waco Brothers, Everymen, Sidewinders, Soul Asylum, Hank Sinatra, Mercury Rev w/Simon Raymonde, Churchwood, Caleb Caudle, Basia Bulat, Robbie Fulks, Brett Harris… need we continue? Loads more slated to perform all four days! Below, take a gander at our party posters as rendered by Jonboy Langford—who, not so coincidentally, once again curated our Thursday show and will serve as your humble host that day

By Thee Editors

Once again we are headed to Austin for our annual March getaway—not so coincidentally, during the annual SXSW bacchanal which draws music biz types and punters from all over the globe. A big thanks to our pals at the Ginger Man – we couldn’t do this without you – as we plan to be hunkered down much/most of the time on the legendary outdoor patio of the beloved pub, located at 301 Lavaca St, Austin, TX 78701.

Ginger-Man

We’d also like to thank our official sponsor this year, Karbach Brewing Company — “proudly brewed in Texas.”

karbach-color-450x149

Bands? Yeah, we’ve seen a few over the years… This time around our trip will run March 16-19, and as usual the BLURT staff is busily scratching out daily and nightly itineraries, knowing full well that after, you know, a few hours in Austin you might as well chuck that proposed schedule out the hotel window and just wing it.

Meanwhile, though, there’s that little matter of the Ginger Man and our annual Industry of Music Showcase, which will feature both day parties and nighttime performances all four days, Wednesday through Saturday. As usual, these parties do not require wristbands or badges to get in—absolutely no guestlists or VIP crap either; everyone is welcome, even Donald Trump supporters—and as such, the venue will operate on the usual “one out/one in” basis whenever it reaches legal capacity. Experience has told us that certain bands are guaranteed club-packers, so it’s always a good idea to arrive early at the Ginger Man doors to ensure your getting in for the particular set(s) you are wanting to catch. Yes, there will be a line from time to time, but experience also has told us that nobody ever has to wait too long.

Come by early, stay late, and make sure you say howdy to the crew!

***

Check out our SXSW coverage from years past…

Blurt Heads to Austin 2015

Blurt Heads to Austin 2014

Photo Gallery: SXSW 2014 / 2014 SXSW Report

Blurt Heads to Austin 2013

2013 SXSW Report (w/links to galleries by Tony Landa, Susan Moll & Michael Passman)

Blurt Heads to Austin 2012

Blurt Heads to Austin 2011

***

18th Annual Industry of Music Showcase / Austin 2016 – March 16-19

Proudly presented by Industry of Music and Blurt Magazine

Wed

~Wednesday, March 16th
1pm – The Kickback – https://www.facebook.com/thekickback

2pm – Freedy Johnston – www.freedyjohnston.com

3pm – Brett Harris – www.brettharrismusic.com

4pm – Robbie Fulks – www.robbiefulks.com

5pm – Supersuckers – www.supersuckers.com

6pm – Blackfoot Gypsies – www.blackfootgypsies.com

7pm – Yoko and the Oh No’s – https://www.facebook.com/yokoandtheohnos/

8pm – Radio Birds – www.radiobirds.net

9pm – Stolen Rhodes – www.stolenrhodes.com

10pm – Overtake – www.overlakemusic.com

11pm – Happy Abandon – http://www.happyabandonmusic.com

12am – The Head – www.theheadmusic.com

Thurs

~Thursday, March 17th (Jon Langford from The Mekons and Waco Brothers will host the day’s event!)
1pm – Darkwing – https://www.facebook.com/darkwingdarkwing/

2pm – Walter Salas-Humara (of The Silos) – www.waltersalashumara.com

3pm – Waco Brothers – https://www.bloodshotrecords.com/artist/waco-brothers

4pm – Banditos – www.banditosband.com
5pm – Churchwood – http://www.reverbnation.com/churchwoodtx

6pm – Bad Luck Jonathan – www.jonlangford.de

7pm – Ice Cold Singles – (Members of the Waco Bros!)

8pm – Insects vs Robots – www.insectsvsrobots.com

9pm – Happy Abandon – http://www.happyabandonmusic.com

10pm – Caleb Caudle – www.calebcaudle.com

11pm – Carbon Poppies – www.carbonpoppies.com

12am – Hank Sinatra – www.hank-sinatra.com

Fri

~Friday, March 18th

1pm – The Everymen – http://theeverymen.bandcamp.com

2pm – Dressy Bessy – www.dressybessy.com

3pm – Dash Rip Rock – www.dashriprock.net

4pm – Soul Asylum – http://soulasylum.com/ / https://www.facebook.com/SoulAsylum/

5pm – ‘Mercury Rev Song and Tell w Simon Raymonde ‘– www.mercuryrev.com

6pm – Luke Winslow King – www.lukewinslowking.com

7pm – Paul Burch – www.paulburch.com

8pm – The Bluebonnets – www.thebluebonnets.net

9pm – The Sidewinders – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Sidewinders

10pm – SURPRISE GUEST (Who will it be THIS year???)

11pm – Hank Sinatra – www.hank-sinatra.com

12am – The Whiskey Gentry – www.thewhiskeygentry.com

Sat


~Saturday, March 19th

1pm – Jeremy and The Harlequins – www.jeremyandtheharlequins.com

2pm – Eli “Paperboy” Reed – www.elipaperboyreed.com

3pm – Basia Bulat – www.basiabulat.com

4pm – Hey Marseilles – www.heymarseilles.com

5pm – The Wild Reeds – www.thewildreedsmusic.com

6pm – Little Hurricane – www.littlehurricanemusic.com

7pm – Yoko and the Oh No’s – https://www.facebook.com/yokoandtheohnos/

8pm – Insects vs Robots – www.insectsvsrobots.com

9pm – Joy Again – https://www.facebook.com/joyagaintheband/

10pm – Wailin Storms – http://wailinstorms.bandcamp.com

11pm – Overlake – www.overlakemusic.com

12am – Dead Stars – https://deadstars.bandcamp.com

 

Leave a Reply