Final Archers of Loaf Reissues En Route


It’s a Carolina thang…


By Tarheel Bob



Let’s briefly summarize – with apologies to Andy Partridge –
what we’ve learned now, shall we? First came the Archers Of Loaf’s epochal 1993
debut Icky Mettle, reissued last
summer by Merge as an expanded 2CD deluxe remaster. Then Merge served up a
sweet remaster of 1995’s followup, Vee
Now the reissue campaign for the indie rock heroes is set to wrap up on
August 7
with expanded/remastered editions of 1996’s All the Nations Airports and 1998’s White Trash Heroes.


Let’s check out a stream of “Dead Red Eyes” from the latter
platter, followed by the tracklistings. Click those links above to read the BLURT reviews of the albums.



Archers of Loaf – Dead Red Eyes by MergeRecords



Archers of Loaf – All
the Nations Airports

Artwork re-imagined by Ian Dingman;
liner notes by NPR’s Stephen Thompson

Track listing:
1. Strangled by the Stereo Wire
2. All the Nations Airports
3. Scenic Pastures
4. Worst Defense
5. Attack of the Killer Bees
6. Rental Sting
7. Assassination on X-mas Eve
8. Chumming the Ocean
9. Vocal Shrapnel
10. Bones of Her Hands
11. Bumpo
12. Form and File
13. Acromegaly
14. Distance Comes in Droves
15. Bombs Away


Bonus Disc:
1. Density
2. Little Jets
3. Strangled by the Stereo Wire (4-Track Demo)
4. All the Nations Airports (4-Track Demo)
5. Scenic Pastures (4-Track Demo)
6. Trilogy (4-Track Demo)
7. Assassination on X-Mas Eve (4-Track Demo)
8. Chumming the Ocean (4-Track Demo)
9. Vocal Shrapnel (4-Track Demo)
10. Bones of Her Hands (4-Track Demo)
11. Bumpo (4-Track Demo)
12. Form and File (4-Track Demo)
13. Acromegaly (4-Track Demo)
14. Distance Comes in Droves (4-Track Demo)
15. Bombs Away (4-Track Demo)
16. Density (4-Track Demo)
17. Little Jets (4-Track Demo)
18. There Has To Be Something (4-Track Demo)
19. Total Failure (4-Track Demo)


Archers of Loaf – White
Trash Heroes

Album art re-imagined by Casey Burns;
liner notes by the A.V. Club’s Josh Modell

Track listing:
1. Fashion Bleeds
2. Dead Red Eyes
3. I.N.S.
4. Perfect Time
5. Slick Tricks and Bright Lights
6. One Slight Wrong Move
7. Banging on a Dead Drum
8. Smokers in Love
9. After the Last Laugh
10. White Trash Heroes


Bonus Disc:
1. Jive Kata
2. Fashion Bleeds (4-Track Demo)
3. Dead Red Eyes (4-Track Demo)
4. Slick Tricks and Bright Lights (4-Track Demo)
5. One Slight Wrong Move (4-Track Demo)
6. Banging on a Dead Drum (4-Track Demo)
7. Smokers in Love (4-Track Demo)
8. After the Last Laugh (4-Track Demo)
9. White Trash Heroes (4-Track Demo)
10. Untitled and Forgotten (4-Track Demo)
11. Walk of Shame
12. Untitled
13. Whooh!



Leave a Reply