Redd Kross Announce 1st LP in 15 Years


Holy Ramones, Batman:
10 songs in 32 minutes.


By Blurt Staff


Redd Kross is back in the record bins as of August 7. That’s
when Merge Records will release Researching
the Blues
, the first new album from the LA punk legends in 15 years. It features
10 new songs clocking in at just under 32 minutes. With songs written by Jeff McDonald
and produced and mixed by Steven McDonald, the album is by far the band’s
favorite record. Steve says, “It has the most singular artistic vision of any
record we’ve done. It’s just 10 really fucking awesome songs that have the
ability to move you in many different ways.”


Founded 34 years ago in Los Angeles during the first wave of
punk rock by the brothers (then respectively 15 and 11 years old), Redd
Kross cut their teeth opening for Black Flag at a middle school graduation
party. Their debut recordings caught the attention of Rodney Bingenheimer, who
quickly became a fan as he spun their Ramones-inspired songs like “Annette’s
Got The Hits” and “I Hate My School” on the world-famous KROQ.


In 2006, the duo announced their reunion with the “classic Neurotica” line-up, joined once again by
guitarist Robert Hecker (IT’S OK) and drummer Roy McDonald (The Muffs). Redd
Kross have been playing to enthusiastic audiences at sold-out select shows and
festivals such as the Azkena Festival; Coachella; The HooDoo Gurus’
Invitational, “Dig It Up”; All Tomorrow’s Parties; and Pop Montréal.
More Redd Kross tour dates to come this year.



Track List:


1. Researching the Blues

2. Stay Away From Downtown

3. Uglier

4. Dracula’s Daughters

5. Meet Frankenstein

6. One of the Good Ones

7. The Nu Temptations

8. Choose to Play

9. Winter Blues

10. Hazel Eyes



Leave a Reply