Neil Young & Crazy Horse Announce New LP


The aptly-titled Americana
arrives June 7.


By Fred Mills


Neil Young and his compadres in Crazy Horse – Billy Talbot,
Ralph Molina, Frank Sampedro – submit their first album since 2003’s Greendale.
Titled Americana, it comprises, according to Rolling Stone, “classic American folks
songs” such as “This Land Is Your Land,” “Tom Dooley,” “Wayfaring Stranger” and “Clementine.” It was
produced by Young and John Hanlon. No tour details have been announced yet.


RS quotes Young as saying, “They’re
songs we all know from kindergarden, but Crazy Horse has rearranged them, and
they now belong to us.” A press release adds, “What ties these songs together
is the fact that while they may represent an America that may no longer exist. The
emotions and scenarios behind these songs still resonate with what’s going on
in the country today with equal, if not greater impact nearly 200 years later. The
lyrics reflect the same concerns and are still remarkably meaningful to a
society going through economic and cultural upheaval, especially during an
election year. They are just as poignant and powerful today as the day they
were written.” 



1 Oh Susannah
2 Clementine
3 Tom Dooley
4 Gallows Pole
5 Get A Job
6 Travel On
7 High Flyin’ Bird
8 She’ll Be Comin ‘Round The Mountain
9 This Land Is Your Land
10 Wayfarin’ Stranger
11 God Save The Queen


Leave a Reply