Listen: Addison Groove Unveils Debut LP


A track a week will be


By Blurt Staff


Anthony Williams, aka Addison Groove, started out life under
a different pseudonym altogether. Recording as Headhunter with an LP and 12″
releases on the influential Tempa label stretching back to 2007, he achieved legendary
status within the dubstep scene. His work at the deeper end of the spectrum
graced the label an impressive seven times, a figure matched only by luminaries
such as Skream. This work looked as though it would continue until 2012, when,
seemingly out of nowhere, he crafted one of the biggest bass music tracks of
the decade, “Footcrab,” under the new name of Addison Groove.


Addison Groove will release his debut album Transistor Rhythm on Berlin’s 50WEAPONS on April 3rd,
and the label will post a track snippet on Soundcloud each week until the
release date. Starting here:



Addison Groove “Sooperlooper” (50WEAPONSCD06) Out March 30 by Modeselektor



To backtrack a bit: speaking of  “Footcrab,” it received critical and
commercial success in equal measure across the dance music scene. Getting plays
not only from the dubstep DJs that Williams was used to reaching, it also found
its way into the record boxes of techno and house heavyweights such as Aphex
Twin, Surgeon, Ricardo Villalobos and Mr. Scruff, bringing an enormous new audience
to his music in the process. Taking influences from the Chicago
ghetto tek and juke scenes, Addison Groove’s impact on UK bass music
has been colossal and unprecedented, sparking a huge interest in these styles
from his peers and the listening public alike.


Progressing at a breakneck pace, he was quick to develop a
live 808 show which has graced some of the finest nightclubs in the world
including Fabric, London and Berlin’s infamous Berghain. With his hectic
touring schedule including USA,
Australia, New Zealand, Asia and numerous dates in Europe, he continues to bring his hybrid sound to captivated audiences across the globe.





01. Incredibly Exhausted Bunny Ears

02. Savage Henry

03. Bad Things feat. Spank Rock

04. Beeps feat. Spank Rock

05. Rudeboy

06. Night To Remember

07. Sooperlooper

08. Energy Flash Back

09. Ass Jazz

10. Skylight

11. Starluck

12. Dance Of The Women feat. Mark Pritchard

13. Entropy


Leave a Reply