8CD/4DVD Roxy Music Box En Route


Massive box set
replaces and elaborates upon previous 1995 box.


By Blurt Staff


Roxy Music fansite Roxyrama reported this week that Roxy
Music will release a deluxe box-set entitled ‘Roxy Music: The Complete Studio Recordings 1972-1982’ on April 2
in the UK.
It’s to celebrate 40 years since the release of the band’s eponymous debut
album in 1972 and is the first of a major reissue campaign with Virgin Records.
Included is a selection of non-album singles, B-sides and remixes, some of
which are available on CD for the first time ever will also be included.
Artwork for the box has not yet been revealed.


Recall that in 1995 Virgin issued, in England, a 4CD
box, The Thrill of It All. Now out of
print and fetching upwards of $250, it included key tracks from the group’s
back catalogue spread across the first three discs and, on the 4th,
17 remixes and rarities:


1. Virginia

2. The Numberer        

3. Pyjamarama            

4. The Pride And The Pain    

5. Manifesto (Remake)

6. Hula Kula   

7. Trash          

8. Your Application’s Failed

9. Lover          

10. Sultanesque           n

11. Dance Away (Ext. Remix)          

12. South Downs       

13. Angel Eyes (Ext. Remix)

14. Always Unknowing         

15. The Main Thing (Ext. Remix)      

16. India

17. Jealous Guy




Those songs appear to be included on this new box but sprinkled
across the 8 discs. More details on the new box:


‘Roxy Music: The
Complete Studio Recordings 1972-1982’,
an 8 CD + 4 DVD deluxe box set, will
feature all eight Roxy Music studio albums – Roxy Music, For Your Pleasure, Stranded, Country Life, Siren,
Manifesto, Flesh And Blood, Avalon.
In addition, a (Each album will also be
represented on DVD format as high-resolution audio, transferred digitally from
the original analogue masters.)



Among the tracks previously never released before on CD: the
USA 7″ mixes of ‘Do The Strand’ ‘Love Is The Drug’ and ‘Take A Chance With Me’,
two edits of Country Life opening track ‘The Thrill Of It All’, plus its B-Side
‘Your Application’s Failed’ (the only track to date written by Thompson), 7″
and the 7″ single versions of ‘Oh Yeah’ (from Flesh And Blood) and ‘Avalon’.





CD1: Roxy Music

1. Re-make/Re-model

2. Ladytron

3. If There Is Something

4. 2HB

5. The Bob (Medley)

6. Chance Meeting

7. Would You Believe?

8. Sea Breezes

9. Bitters End


Bonus Tracks:

10. Virginia

11. The Numberer



CD2: For Your Pleasure

1. Do The Strand

2. Beauty Queen

3. Strictly Confidential

4. Editions Of You

5. In Every Dream Home A Heartache

6. The Bogus Man

7. Grey Lagoons

8. For Your Pleasure


Bonus Tracks:

9. Pyjamarama (Island Mix)

10. Pyjamarama (Polydor Mix)

11. The Pride And The Pain

12. Do The Strand (USA 7″ Mix 3:19) **never been available
on CD before**



CD3: Stranded

1. Street Life

2. Just Like You

3. Amazona

4. Psalm

5. Serenade

6. A Song For Europe

7. Mother Of Pearl

8. Sunset


Bonus Track:

9. Hula Kula



CD4: Country Life

1. The Thrill Of It All

2. Three And Nine

3. All I Want Is You

4. Out Of The Blue

5. If It Takes All Night

6. Bitter Sweet

7. Triptych

8. Casanova

9. A Really Good Time

10. Prairie Rose


Bonus Tracks:

11. The Thrill Of It All – 1977 Greatest Hits Edit (4’20) )
**never been available on CD before**

12. Your Application’s Failed

13. The Thrill Of It All (USA 7″ Mix 3:20) **never been
available on CD before**



CD5: Siren

1. Love Is The Drug

2. End Of The Line

3. Sentimental Fool

4. Whirlwind

5. She Sells

6. Could It Happen To Me?

7. Both Ends Burning

8. Nightingale

9. Just Another High


Bonus Tracks:

10. Love Is The Drug (USA 7″ Mix 3:00) **never been
available on CD before**

11. Sultanesque

12. Both Ends Burning (7″ Mix 3:58) **never been available
on CD before**

13. For Your Pleasure – Live **never been available on CD



CD6: Manifesto

1. Manifesto

2. Trash

3. Angel Eyes (***rock version***)

4. Still Falls The Rain

5. Stronger Through The Years

6. Ain’t That So

7. My Little Girl

8. Dance Away (***ballad Version***)

9. Cry, Cry, Cry

10. Spin Me Round


Bonus Tracks:

11. Trash 2

12. Dance Away (Single Version)

13. Dance Away (Canadian Extended 12″ Mix)

14. Angel Eyes (Single Version)

15. Angel Eyes (12″ Single Version)



CD7: Flesh And Blood

1. The Midnight Hour

2. Oh Yeah

3. Same Old Scene

4. Flesh And Blood

5. My Only Love

6. Over You

7. Eight Miles High

8. Rain Rain Rain

9. No Strange Delight

10. Running Wild


Bonus Tracks:

11. Oh Yeah (7″ Version) **never been available on CD

12. Manifesto (Remake)

13. South Downs

14. Lover

15. Jealous Guy

16. To Turn On You (1981 B-Side Version) **never been
available on CD before**



CD8: Avalon

1. More Than This

2. The Space Between

3. Avalon

4. India

5. While My Heart Is Still Beating

6. The Main Thing

7. Take A Chance With Me

8. To Turn You On

9. True To Life

10. Tara


Bonus Tracks:

11. Avalon (7″ Single Version) **never been available on CD

12. Always Unknowing

13. Take A Chance With Me (7″ Single Version) **never been
available on CD before**

14. Take A Chance With Me (USA 7″ Mix) **never been available
on CD before**

15. The Main Thing (12″ Single Version)

16. The Main Thing – Remix **never been available on CD



Leave a Reply