New Grimes LP Due in January (MP3)

album in two years for the prolific experimentalist. Listen to first single,


By Blurt Staff


Canadian electronica/dance/pop artist Grimes –
Claire Boucher to her friends – is set to release her fourth album. Titled Visions, it drops Jan. 31 on Arbutus and
follows debut album, Geidi Primes (2010), Halfaxa (2010;  arguably one of the first witch-house or lo-fi
R&B releases), and  Darkbloom (2011), where she began taking her first steps as a producer, bringing together
the experimentation behind her early work and a cutting edge pop aesthetic.


Each album incorporates a different set of
influences and styles. Visions is inspired by artists ranging from
Enya and TLC to Aphex Twin, drawing from genres like New Jack Swing, IDM, New
Age, K-pop, Industrial and glitch. This approach has marked Grimes as a curator
of culture, and allowed the project to remain flexible and evolving.


You can check out the first single from the
new album right here:



Boucher was born in Vancouver and came to
Montreal in 2006. Her experience as a performer is deeply embedded in the DIY
loft culture of Montreal, where Grimes was one of the prominent figures in the
scene surrounding Lab Synthèse – a 4600 square foot re-appropriated textile
factory. She developed in a scene where punk ethos and pop music collide,
resulting in a distinct sense of community, religiosity and psychedelic


Boucher describes her art as “the only
means through which I can be fully expressive. It is both an ethereal escape
from, and a violent embrace of my experience. The creative process is a quest
for the ultimate sensual, mystical and cathartic experience and the vehicle for
my psychic purging.  Visions was conceived in a period of
self-imposed cloistering during which time I did not see daylight.”




1. Infinite â�¡ Without
2. Genesis
3. Oblivion
4. Eight
5. Circumambient
6. Vowels = Space and Time
7. Visiting Statue
8. Be A Body (ä¾ï¿½å¯ï¿½)
9. Colour of Moonlight (Antiochus) (feat. Doldrums)
10. Symphonia IX (My Wait Is U)
11. Nightmusic (feat. Majical Cloudz)
12. Skin
13. Know The Way (Outro)



Leave a Reply