MP3: New Lambchop Album En Route


Mr. M coming in
February from Kurt Wagner & Co.


By Blurt Staff


Merge Records will release Lambchop’s Mr. M on February 21. Recorded at Mark Nevers’ Nashville Beech
House studio and dedicated to Vic Chesnutt, Mr.
includes the usual core of musicians – songwriter/vocalist Kurt wagner Scott
Martin (drums), Matt Swanson (bass), Ryan Norris (guitar, organ), Tony Crow
(piano), William Tyler (guitar). Guests include original co-founder Jonathan
Marx, singer Cortney Tidwell (who shared vocals with Wagner on 2010’s KORT
project) and fiddler Billy Contreras (who has worked with everyone from Charlie
Louvin to Laura Cantrell), plus string arrangements shared between Peter
Stopschinski and Mason Neely.

According to Merge, “The core of the music remains the cyclical picking of
Wagner’s guitar and the soft, warm croaking of his voice. The songs are
spacious, even dreamy, as on the Countrypolitan instrumental “Gar,” while the
lyrics and titles are rich with allusions, some of them obvious, others
seemingly unknowable.”


You can check out an advance MP3: “If Not I’ll Just Die”


Lambchop – If Not I’ll Just Die by MergeRecords

Leave a Reply