Betty Wright, Roots Team for New Album


Guests also include
Joss Stone, Snoop Dogg and Lil Wayne.


By Blurt Staff


Soul music icon Betty Wright – singer, composer, producer,
arranger, vocal coach and spiritual godmother to countless young artists – has
announced the release of Betty Wright: The
(S-Curve Records/Ms. B Records) on November 15. This is her first
solo album since 2001’s Fit For a King.
The 15-time Grammy nominee and Grammy winner for Best R&B song “Where Is
The Love” has kept busy during the past decade, however. Wright co-produced Joss
Stone’s first two albums, The Soul
 and Mind, Body
& Soul.
 In 2006, Wright was
hand-picked by Sean “Diddy” Combs to be the vocal coach for the hit TV show Making
the Band. In 2008 she co-produced two songs on Tom Jones’ 24 Hours , was nominated for a Grammy with Angie Stone for the
single “Baby,” and was a Grammy nominee for Album of the Year as a writer,
producer and singer on Lil Wayne’s Tha
Carter III
, which includes Wright’s duet with Lil Wayne, “Playing With
Fire.” And just last year, Wright’s single “Go!” received a Grammy
nod for Best Traditional R&B Vocal Performance.  


Betty Wright: The
serves up 14 songs, all of which were co-written by Wright and
co-produced by Wright, Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson of The Roots, and Angelo
Morris. Guests include The Roots, Lil Wayne, Lenny Williams (Tower of Power),
Snoop Dogg and Joss Stone.


Wright, affectionately known to friends and family as Ms. B,
reflects on the album’s title: “I am more griot than singer. You can usually
see what I say.” She continues “I decided that each song would be a vision that
you could take to the screen…14 songs equal 14 movies.”


Betty Wright: The


1. Old Songs

2. Real Woman featuring Snoop Dogg

3. In The Middle of the Game (Don’t Change The Play)

4. Surrender

5. Grapes on a Vine featuring Lil Wayne

6. Look Around (Be a Man)

7. Tonight Again

8. Hollywould featuring Robert “The Messenger” Bozeman

9. Whisper in The Wind featuring Joss Stone

10. Baby Come Back featuring Lenny Williams

11. So Long, So Wrong

12. You and Me, Leroy

13. The One [bonus track]

14. Go! (Live) [bonus track]


Leave a Reply