Smiths Box Set Track & Release Details


Due Oct. 18. And the
Deluxe Collector’s Edition, out Oct. 25,  will only set you back 500 bucks! If you live in the U.S., you may be one of 750 lucky fans…


By Blurt Staff


That’s a lotta Smiths – as you’ll see, below. As
previously announced, on Oct. 18 Rhino is releasing a comprehensive Smiths box
titled, smartly, Complete. That would
mean eight albums, in
both CD and vinyl formats, each fully remastered by guitarist Johnny Marr, in
one ultimate collection. COMPLETE includes all four of the band’s studio albums
The Smiths (1984), Meat Is Murder (1985), The Queen Is Dead (1986), Strangeways, Here We Come (1987) – and
their sole live album, Rank (1988).
They are complemented by three fan-favorite compilations: Hatful Of Hollow (1984), The
World Won’t Listen
(1987) and Louder
Than Bombs
(1987). Marr and engineer Frank Arkwright remastered all eight
albums using the original tape sources.


CD boxed set version features each album packaged in a mini-LP replica sleeve
complete with the original artwork, including gatefolds and inner sleeves where
relevant. The vinyl boxed set version consists of the original albums – five
single LPs and three doubles – pressed on 180-gram audiophile vinyl and
presented in all their 12″ glory with beautifully restored artwork. Each will
be available at physical retail outlets for suggested list prices of $78.98
(CD), $249.98 (LP) and $39.99 (Digital).


Deluxe Collector’s Edition will be offered as well, exclusively at Packaged
in an individually numbered, trunk-style box, this version is limited to 4,000
pieces worldwide, with only 750 available in the U.S., only at It
contains all eight albums on CD and vinyl, accompanied by all 25 of The Smiths’
singles on 7″ vinyl (including rare and deleted artwork). The set also includes:
12″ art prints of all eight album sleeves; a poster featuring the artwork for
the albums and singles; expanded liner notes by renowned author Lois Wilson; and
“The Complete Picture” DVD of the band’s music videos. The Deluxe Collector’s
Edition is available for pre-order now exclusively at for $499.98 and
will be released on October 25.



Track Listing:



The Smiths

1.       “Reel Around the Fountain”

2.       “You’ve Got Everything Now”

3.       “Miserable Lie”

4.       “Pretty Girls Make Graves”

5.       “The Hand That Rocks the

6.       “Still Ill”

7.       “Hand in Glove”

8.       “What Difference Does It

9.       “I Don’t Owe You Anything”

10.    “Suffer Little Children”



Meat Is Murder

1.       “The Headmaster Ritual”

2.       “Rusholme Ruffians”

3.       “I Want the One I Can’t

4.       “What She Said”

5.       “That Joke Isn’t Funny

6.       “Nowhere Fast”

7.       “Well I Wonder”

8.       “Barbarism Begins at Home”

9.       “Meat Is Murder”



The Queen Is Dead

1.       “The Queen Is Dead”

2.       “Frankly, Mr. Shankly”

3.       “I Know It’s Over”

4.       “Never Had No One Ever”

5.       “Cemetry Gates”

6.       “Bigmouth Strikes Again”

7.       “The Boy with the Thorn in
His Side”

8.       “Vicar in a Tutu”

9.       “There Is a Light That Never
Goes Out”

10.    “Some Girls Are Bigger Than




Strangeways, Here We Come

1.       “A Rush and a Push and the
Land Is Ours”

2.       “I Started Something I
Couldn’t Finish”

3.       “Death of a Disco Dancer”

4.       “Girlfriend in a Coma”

5.       “Stop Me If You Think You’ve
Heard This One Before”

6.       “Last Night I Dreamt That
Somebody Loved Me”

7.       “Unhappy Birthday”

8.       “Paint a Vulgar Picture”

9.       “Death at One’s Elbow”

10.    “I Won’t Share You”






1.       “The Queen Is Dead”

2.       “Panic”

3.       “Vicar in a Tutu”

4.       “Ask”

5.       “His Latest Flame/Rusholme
Ruffians” (Medley)

6.       “The Boy With The Thorn in
His Side”

7.       “Rubber Ring/What She Said”

8.       “Is It Really So Strange?”

9.       “Cemetry Gates”

10.    “London”

11.    “I Know It’s Over”

12.    “The Draize Train”

13.    “Still Ill”

14.    “Bigmouth Strikes Again”




Hatful Of Hollow

1.       “William, It Was Really

2.       “What Difference Does It

3.       “These Things Take Time”

4.       “This Charming Man”

5.       “How Soon Is Now?”

6.       “Handsome Devil”

7.       “Hand in Glove”

8.       “Still Ill”

9.       “Heaven Knows I’m Miserable

10.    “This Night Has Opened My

11.    “You’ve Got Everything Now”

12.    “Accept Yourself”

13.    “Girl Afraid”

14.    “Back to the Old House”

15.    “Reel Around the Fountain”

16.    “Please, Please, Please Let
Me Get What I Want”




The World Won’t Listen

1.       “Panic”

2.       “Ask”

3.       “London”

4.       “Bigmouth Strikes Again”

5.       “Shakespeare’s Sister”

6.       “There Is a Light That Never
Goes Out”

7.       “Shoplifters of the World

8.       “The Boy with the Thorn in
His Side”

9.       “Money Changes Everything”

10.    “Asleep”

11.    “Unloveable”

12.    “Half a Person”

13.    “Stretch Out and Wait”

14.    “That Joke Isn’t Funny

15.    “Oscillate Wildly”

16.    “You Just Haven’t Earned It
Yet, Baby”

17.    “Rubber Ring”





Louder Than Bombs

1.       “Is It Really So Strange?”

2.       “Sheila Take a Bow”

3.       “Shoplifters of the World Unite”

4.       “Sweet and Tender Hooligan”

5.       “Half a Person”

6.       “London”

7.       “Panic”

8.       “Girl Afraid”

9.       “Shakespeare’s Sister”

10.    “William, It Was Really

11.    “You Just Haven’t Earned It
Yet, Baby”

12.    “Heaven Knows I’m Miserable

13.    “Ask”

14.    “Golden Lights”

15.    “Oscillate Wildly”

16.    “These Things Take Time”

17.    “Rubber Ring”

18.    “Back to the Old House”

19.    “Hand in Glove”

20.    “Stretch Out and Wait”

21.    “Please, Please, Please Let
Me Get What I Want”

22.    “This Night Has Opened My

23.    “Unloveable”

24.    “Asleep”


7″ Singles – Deluxe Collector’s Edition Only

1.       “Hand In Glove” b/w
“Handsome Devil” (Live)

2.       “Reel Around The Fountain”
b/w “Jeane”

3.       “This Charming Man” b/w

4.       “What Difference Does It
Make?” b/w “Back To The Old House”

5.       “Heaven Knows I’m Miserable
Now” b/w “Suffer Little Children”

6.       “William, It Was Really
Nothing” b/w “Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want”

7.       “William, It Was Really
Nothing” b/w “How Soon Is Now?”

8.       “How Soon Is Now?” b/w “Well
I Wonder”

9.       “The Headmaster Ritual” b/w
“Oscillate Wildly”

10.    “Shakespeare’s Sister” b/w
“What She Said”

11.    “Barbarism Begins At Home”
b/w “Shakespeare’s Sister”

12.    “That Joke Isn’t Funny
Anymore” b/w “Meat Is Murder” (Live)

13.    “The Boy With The Thorn In
His Side” b/w “Asleep”

14.    “Bigmouth Strikes Again” b/w
“Money Changes Everything”

15.    “Panic” b/w “Vicar In A

16.    “Some Girls Are Bigger Than
Others” b/w “The Draize Train”

17.    “Ask” b/w “Cemetry Gates”

18.    “Shoplifters Of The World
Unite” b/w “Half A Person”

19.    “There Is A Light That Never
Goes Out” b/w “Half A Person”

20.    “Sheila Take A Bow” b/w “Is
It Really So Strange?”

21.    “Girlfriend In A Coma” b/w
“Work Is a Four-Letter Word”

22.    “I Started Something I
Couldn’t Finish” b/w “Pretty Girls Make Graves”

23.    “Stop Me If You Think You’ve
Heard This One Before” b/w “Girlfriend In A Coma”

24.    “Last Night I Dreamt
Somebody Loved Me” b/w “Rusholme Ruffians”

25.    “Sweet And Tender Hooligan”
b/w “I Keep Mine Hidden”



Leave a Reply