Factory Recs 12”/Rarities Comp Coming


New Order, Quando
Quango, A Certain Ratio, Section 25 and many more – including Blurt!


By Blurt Staff


On Oct. 11 the Strut label presents an essential new retrospective of Factory
Records, the Manchester
club-turned-record label set up in the late ‘70s by Tony Wilson and Alan
Erasmus. Compiled by Bill Brewster of djhistory.com, FAC. DANCE: Factory Records 12″ Mixes & Rarities
1980 – 1987
the spotlight on some of the label’s early dancefloor-based work across key
12″ mixes and rarities, from the unmistakeable productions of Martin
Hannett to more unheralded backroom work by New Order’s Bernard Sumner and A
Certain Ratio drummer Donald Johnson, under their BeMusic and DoJo monikers.


The album traces early experiments from Blurt’s avant
garde mutant funk to the fertile post-Joy Division period as the label’s
unique, coruscating post-punk sound took shape through seminal bands like A
Certain Ratio and Section 25. The album also expressly documents Factory’s
strong links and cross-pollination with New York’s 1980s club culture, as New
Order joined forces with producer Arthur Baker, fresh from his pioneering
electro work with Afrika Bambaataa, and acts like Quando Quango and Sweet
Sensation’s Marcel King enlisted NY remixer Mark Kamins for tough-edged club
treatments. Factory bands including Quando Quango would also play live at some
of the city’s seminal nightspots, including the Paradise Garage.


The compilation also touches on some of the wider
directions explored by Factory during its early years – Durutti Column’s
melancholic beauty, the latin jazz and jazz funk of Swamp Children, Kalima and
Tony Henry’s 52nd Street and a track from the label’s only reggae
single, the Dennis Bovell-produced ‘See Them A’Come’ by X-O-Dus. This is the
music that would provide the blueprint for the Manchester scene of the late ’80s and
Factory’s heady later years – the Happy Mondays, James, Northside and the rest.


FAC. DANCE is compiled
and annotated by Brewster and features rare artist photos alongside original
label artwork by Peter Saville. The album is produced in association with James
Nice at LTM Records – LTM, of course, is the British label that’s been responsible for scores of Factory reissues (as well as compilations similar to
this one) over the past decade or so, very handily carrying the torch and
waving the flag for the seminal label.



CD 1

Section 25 – Looking From A
Hilltop (Megamix) (8:12)

A Certain Ratio – Wild Party

Quando Quango – Love Tempo (7:49)

52nd Street – Express

Swamp Children – Little Voices

Biting Tongues – Boss Toyota Trouble (5:30)

The Durutti Column – For Belgian
Friends (Valuable Passages version) (5:22)

Royal Family & The Poor – Art
On 45 (4:49)

A Certain Ratio – Knife Slits
Water (12-inch version) (9:44)

Section 25 – Dirty Disco

Blurt – Puppeteer (3:22)

X-O-Dus – See Them-A-Come (8.28)



CD 2

New Order – Confusion (Original
12″ mix) 8.13

Shark Vegas – Pretenders Of Love

52nd Street – Cool As Ice
(Jellybean Mix) (7:29)

Streetlife – Act On Instinct (Hot
Swedish Mix) (5:32)

The Hood – Salvation! (Nitromix)

Abecedarians – Smiling Monarchs

Quando Quango – Atom Rock (Mark
Kamins Mix) 7:27)

Marcel King – Reach For Love (New York Remix) (5:26)

52nd Street – Look Into My
Eyes (6:55)

Quando Quango – Genius (6:22)

Swamp Children – You’ve Got Me
Beat (4:55)

The Durutti Column – Madeleine



Digital only bonus tracks: 

Minny Pops – Time (3.44)

Kalima – Black Water (6.35)

Royal Family & The Poor –
Motherland (5:42)



Leave a Reply