Chicago House Music Label Celebrates 25th


Two-disc package includes The Trax Records 25th Anniversary
Album + The House That Trax
Built DVD Documentary.



To celebrate 25 years in the business, on October 18, pioneering house
music label Trax Records will release a special two-disc collection showcasing
some of the label’s more underground and avant-garde tracks plus some new
material. In addition to a musical collection, the package includes a special
DVD documentary entitled The House That Trax Built, which tells the
story of Trax Records and explores the relationship (and growth) between house
music, the city of Chicago,
and the international music community and fans.



Trax Records: The 25th Anniversary Collection from Jorge Cruz on Vimeo.




The backstory:


One of house music’s pivotal moments can be traced to the year 1977,
when legendary DJ Larry Levan was preparing to open The Paradise Garage in New York City, a club
that would go on to be one of the most influential of all time. Busy with
details for the Garage, Levan had turned down an offer he received to open a
new club in Chicago.
He suggested to his friend Frankie Knuckles that he take the offer and move to Chicago to become
resident DJ of The Warehouse. Knuckles’ style of DJing wasn’t about merely
playing records consecutively; he brought New York’s
beat mixing style to Chicago
for the first time and made older soul tracks danceable by adding percussion
into the mix from a separate turntable. Some say that the term “house music”
was coined at the Warehouse to describe the unique style of music that Frankie
Knuckles played at the club. And so – house music was born in Chicago.


As house music grew in popularity and young artists started producing
tracks, there was a need for a label to cater to this new sound. Enter Trax
Records. Launched in December 1984 by Larry Sherman with Rachael Cain (a.k.a
Screamin’ Rachael), Jesse Saunders, and Vince Lawrence, when they convinced Sherman to press their
vinyl records on credit, and quickly returned with stacks of cash. It was on
Trax that the first house and acid house records were pressed and it was the
influence of these very records that changed the course of music history.


Since its inception Trax Records has released over 2,000 titles (and
counting), and first put iconic names such as Frankie Knuckles; Marshall
Jefferson; Mr. Fingers; Farley “Jackmaster” Funk; Adonis; Ralphie Rosario and Screamin’
Rachael on the map. The label has also released tracks from a who’s who of the
industry including DJ Rush, Armando, Joey Beltram, Ron Hardy, Robert Owens, Maurice
Joshua, Fast Eddie and many more. In 2011, with the resurgence of the hip-house
sound, Cain is working with emerging artists DJ Fade, MFTD feat DJ Swank &
vocalist Alyze, Professor Kliq & Ramova, and Tomiko Dixon, granddaughter of
Blues legend Willie Dixon, which are all leading up to Cain’s retrospective




1. Chuck Roberts – “In the Beginning”

2. Two Of A Kind – “Happiness”

3. Jamie Principle & Frankie Knuckles – “It’s A Cold World”

4. Mr. Lee – “I Can’t Forget”

5. Jungle Wonz – “Time Marches On”

6. Housemaster Boyz – “Trax You Lost”

7. Virgo – “Do You Know Who You Are?”

8. Hula – “Hot Hands”

9. Hercules – “Lost In The Groove”

10. DJ Rush – “Help”

11. Ralphi Rosario – “You Used to Hold Me 2011”
 vocal by Screamin’ Rachael, Remix by DJ Gem

Bonus Tracks:

12. George Clinton & Screamin’ Rachael – “Our House Is Funkatified”

13. ‘Hip That House’ featuring Bloodties



Leave a Reply