Calexico Issues The Guard Soundtrack


Also readying 8-LP
vinyl box set
for release this fall.


By Fred Mills


Calexico continues its foray into the world of cinema with a new soundtrack
it’s for indie film The Guard. The 23-track
album comes on the heels’ of last year’s acclaimed soundtrack to Circo and is currently available in digital format at iTunes. Love those songtitles: “Bourbon in the Jar,” “Boot
Full of Guns,” “Beautiful Fucking Day,” etc. View the official trailer, which
features some of the band’s music, below.


The Guard – which
hit selected cinemas late last month – was directed by John Michael McDonagh
and stars Brendan Gleeson and Don Cheadle and is described thusly:


Sergeant Gerry Boyle
is a small-town Irish cop with a confrontational personality, a subversive
sense of humour, a dying mother, a fondness for prostitutes and absolutely no
interest whatsoever in the international drug-smuggling ring that has brought
FBI agent Wendell Everett to his door. Boyle drifts through life, not much
concerned about anything, not even the mysterious murder of a man in one of the
town’s holiday cottages. But when Everett
shows Boyle the mugshots of four drug traffickers, he recognises one of them as
the dead man. And so the two cases converge, with a bemused Everett finding himself adrift in the
decidedly original and sometimes surreal world of Sergeant Gerry Boyle, the
last of the independents!







1: Boyle Gets Dressed
2: Boyle and McBride Discuss Motives
3: Eugene Wheels Past
4: Bourbon In the Jar
5: Black Car, Black Night
6: Tap At Cornell’s Window
7: Into the West
8: Boyle Swims Ashore
9: All In a Day’s Work
10: McBride’s Car Abandoned

11: Malice Aforethought
12: Hanley’s Bar
13: Meeting By the Sea
14: From Beyond
15: I Like Sharks
16: Boot Full of Guns
17: Good to Go
18: Everett’s
19: Boyle Ready for Action
20: Leaving Gabriela
21: Down to Two
22: Firestorm of Impossible Odds
23: Beautiful Fucking Day




Leave a Reply