Mogwai Preps New EP

Latest barrel o’ riffage due Sept. 13 on Sub Pop.


Having thus far enjoyed a monumental year, with a sold
out world tour and the release of the critically acclaimed 7th studio album,Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will (reviewed here at
BLURT), Mogwai are ready to embark upon another chapter. The band are set to
release their Earth Division EP, which carries 4- brand new tracks,
highlighting a creative departure from the band’s trademark cinematic mantra of
pulverizing, scorched guitar riffage, into a more recontextualiseddomain of
hazy electronic distortion, accompanied by spiky wafts of violins, violas,
cellos and double bass and jagged keys.

Earth Division discretely
demonstrates another side of Mogwai’s stratospheric level of brilliance with
its ever-rotating, hypnotic soundtracks that drift dreamy into force, while
adsorbing into the paranormal. The EP is a collaboration of barded guitar
distortion and haunting piano, which might offer the listener something
different, but it still carries the band’s hallmarks.

Earth Division EP tracklisting:  
1. Get To France. 
2. Hound Of Winter.  
3. Drunk And Crazy.  
4. Does This Always Happen?
Mogwai are headlining at this month’s iTunes Festival, at the Roundhouse, London on 23rd July and they will also be appearing at the End Of The Road Festival on 3rd September, which sold out in record time. They will also be returning to the
states for a few shows in the beginning of September. Click here for a full list of
tour dates.



Leave a Reply