Sly Stone Returns w/Guest-Studded Album


First new record since 1982 from the soul-funk


By Blurt Staff


The names “Cleopatra Records”
and “Sly Stone” aren’t uttered all that often in the same context, but hey,
this is the music business, not an English lit class. To that end, the
legendary goth-industrial label is joining forces with the legendary soul-funk
artist for the aptly-titled I’m Back!
Family & Friends


It’s due August 16 and
represents Stone’s first new album since 1982, although fans hoping for a slew
of all new songs may have to wait awhile since there’s only a smattering of
previously unheard material. Instead, classics from “Everyday People” and
“Family Affair” to “Dance to the Music” and “Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice
Elf Agin)” are given updates. The album is topped off with three
previously unreleased tracks, including Sly’s take on the traditional “His Eye
Is On The Sparrow.”  The CD version also
adds three club mixes. 


Adding to the interpretations
are contributions from Ray Manzarek, Bootsy Collins, Johnny Winter, Jeff Beck,
Ann Wilson and more. 



1.  Dance To The Music feat. Ray Manzarek (The

2.  Everyday People feat. Ann Wilson (Heart)

3.  Family Affair

4.  Stand! feat. Carmine Appice (Vanilla
Fudge/Rod Stewart) & Ernie Watts (Frank Zappa/The Rolling Stones)

5.  Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin) feat.
Johnny Winter

6.  (I Want To Take You) Higher feat. Jeff Beck

7.  Hot Fun In The Summertime feat. Bootsy

8.  Dance To The Music (Extended Mix)

9.  Plain Jane

10.  His Eye Is On The Sparrow

11.  Get Away




12.  Dance To The Music (Club Mix)

13.  Family Affair (Dubstep Mix)

14.  Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)
(Electro Club Mix)




Leave a Reply