Lou Reed w/Lollapalooza Live DVD


Something about
mid-set noise…


By Blurt Staff


While the world is still reeling from the recent news about
that Lou Reed-Metallica summit coming later this year, Reed’s got a new DVD en
route, Lollapalooza Live, filmed at
the Lollapalooza Festival in Chicago
on August 9th, 2009.  It hits stores July 19 (Aug. 1 in the UK) – just in time for this year’s Lollapalooza
in Chicago,
Aug. 5-7.

Included are eight Reed classics including ‘Sweet Jane’, ‘Senselessly Cruel’,
‘Dirty Boulevard’, ‘Waves Of Fear’, ‘Mad’, ‘Paranoid Key Of E’, ‘I’m Waiting
For The Man’, and ‘Walk On The Wild Side’. Not exactly heavy lifting for Uncle
Lou, but the players are without peer: Rob Wasserman (bass), Tony ‘Thunder’
Smith (drums), Mike Rathke (guitar), Steve Hunter (who played on Lou Reed’s ‘Berlin‘), Kevin Hearn (keyboards),
Ulrich Krieger (sax), Sarth Calhoun (electronics, fingerboard continuum, processing).

But wait, there’s more than meets the eye (ear): the performance also features
a 15-minute mid-set section of instrumental noise performed by Lou’s Metal
Machine Trio, adding an extra bit of intensity to the proceedings.


Leave a Reply