Jesse Sykes Preps New Studio Album


Self-produced and
self-released, it’s due Aug. 2.


By Blurt Staff


BLURT faves Jesse Sykes & The Sweet Hereafter are
prepping their fourth album, Marble Son, for an Aug. 2 release. It was
co-produced by Jesse Sykes and longtime bandmate, Phil Wandscher, along with engineer,
Mell Dettmer, and will be released on their own label, Station Grey Records.
The band: Sykes Sykes (vocals, guitars), Phil Wandscher (guitars, organ, moog,
casio, lap steel, vocals), Bill Herzog (bass, vocals) and Eric Eagle (drums, percussion, vocals).


Though oft saddled with the “alt-country” tag, of
late, Sykes and Co. have moved into slightly heavier and darker territories. Marble
exemplifies a band at their creative pinnacle – heavier and more
complex than previous records; the music resonates among the parallel worlds of
the avant-garde and the timeless. Sykes’ voice and sometimes-mystical leanings
and her band’s incomparable musical rapport, culminate in what the New York Times has described as
“spellbound music, rapt in fatalism and sorrow.” Sykes’ trademark thematic
darkness and acclaimed songwriting have never been more present; yet Marble
speaks of evolution, which Sykes describes as, “a sonic mirror of the
most chaotic, turbulent times of our lives, where beauty triumphed, and the
tears that spilled became this record”.


Marble Son is the sound of a band evolving personally
and sonically – urgently expanding to mirror the chaos of modern culture, while
not forgetting the seemingly hushed beauty of the past. The result is more
relevant than ever and as Jesse puts it “we have never been closer to
sounding like the sweet hereafter than with what we have created here.”


 The band will celebrate the release of Marble Son with a special show in Seattle
on August 4th, and will be joined by special guests, The Sadies.
That will be followed by a couple of performances at the Pickathon Festival in Portland, OR.
More tour dates will be announced soon.



Track listing:


1) Hushed By Devotion

2) Marble Son

3) Come To Mary

4) Servant Of Your Vision

5) Ceiling’s High

6) Be It Me, Or Be It None

7) Pleasuring The Divine

8) Weight Of Cancer

9) Birds Of Passerine

10) Your Own Kind

11) Wooden Roses



Leave a Reply