Thrill Jockey Does Japan Benefit Comp


Massive 64-track
double album available for download now.


By Blurt Staff


Benefit for the Recovery in
, a compilation album with
contributions from over sixty diverse artists from around the world, has just
been released via Thrill Jockey’s Fina-Music online digital music store. 
100% of the proceeds from the sale of this compilation will go directly towards
the recovery and relief effort taking place in the wake of the March 11th
earthquake and tsunami in northern Japan and the resulting nuclear
emergency.  This massive set contains nearly five hours of music and
features tracks by a wide range of artists including Christian Fennesz, Shinji
Masuko (Boredoms/DMBQ), Prefuse 73, Tim Hecker, Tunde Adebimpe, School of Seven
Bells, Zeena Parkins, Bear In Heaven, The Ex, Deerhunter’s Bradford Cox, Oren
Ambarchi, Akron/Family, Sam Prekop, Ben Frost, Rhys Chatham, and many others.



Go to this Fina-Music link to
download the album.


As the crisis continues to unfold and the full scope of the disaster becomes
even more apparent, our sisters and brothers in Japan face many challenges: 
both the immediate needs – provisions for food, water, shelter, and healthcare
– as well as the long term recovery and rebuilding efforts in the impacted
communities.  The ripple effects of the earthquake and resulting tsunami
will be felt for years to come.  Benefit for the Recovery in Japan was created with the goal of providing immediate and tangible aid in the
relief, recovery, and rebuilding that will take place over the coming days,
months, and years. 

The people of Japan need
your help now, and your purchase of this music is one way to connect with and
provide assistance to the people in Japan working to recover from this
disaster.  100% of the proceeds from your purchase of this release will go
to the Japanese emergency response organization Civic Force – thereby helping
support real work happening on the ground by Japanese-based relief workers.

This compilation is dedicated to the victims and survivors, their families, and
the aid workers courageously struggling to deal with the aftermath of the


Benefit for the Recovery in
is curated by Antiopic’s David
Daniell and James Elliott, with invaluable assistance from Regina Greene (Front
Porch Productions), and Greg Davis.  This release is made possible by the
generosity of all of the artists involved.


About Civic Force:  Civic Force is a Japanese not-for-profit
organization that provides aid and emergency response in times of great
domestic trouble in Japan. 
Civic Force developed from experiences learned during the Niigata Earthquake of
2004, and was established to provide faster and more effective disaster relief
by cooperating closely with NGOs, the business community and government of Japan. 
For more information about Civic Force, see


Track List:

Part One:

01. Fennesz: “Fearless”
02. Helado Negro: “Cabeza Bella”
03. Stephan Mathieu: “(Excerpt from) The Floating World”
04. School of Seven Bells: “Midnight
05. Lawrence
: “Hotaru”
06. Noveller: “Darkheart”
07. Zeena Parkins: “The Letter”
08. Tom Carter (of Charalambides): “Mended”
09. Akron/Family: “Deep Kazoo”
10. The Ex: “Cold Weather Is Back”
11. Shinji Masuko (of Boredoms/DMBQ): “Botsuon”
12. Oneohtrix Point Never: “The Inside World”
13. Tokimonsta: “Sound
14. Joshua Abrams: “Jackdaws”
15. Keith Fullerton
: “Anzac #3”
16. Ben Frost: “Snæugla”
17. David Daniell: “Shiho-hiru-tama”
18. Grouper: “Cassiopeia”
19. Tape: “Mirrors”
20. Jefre Cantu-Ledesma: “Moon in a Dewdrop”

21. D. Charles Speer:
“Steel Infant”
22. Evan Caminiti (of Barn Owl): “Blue Veil”
23. Blackshaw, Wood, Wood & Tomlinson (James Blackshaw & Hush
Arbors): “Are You Alright? (Chump Change)”

24. Nat Baldwin (of Dirty
Projectors): “In the Hollows”

25. Chris Forsyth & Shawn
Edward Hansen
: “Dirty Pool Blues”
26. Zelienople: “Stone Faced About It”
27. Elm (Jon Porras of Barn Owl): “Diamond Dust”
28. Lobisomem: “Kusha”
29. Stabbing Eastwood (Tunde Adebimpe & Ryan Sawyer): “Thundersnow Mountain”
30. Alan Licht & Greg Malcolm: “Natasha Utting Reporting”
31. Scott Tuma: “To: Hasty”
32. Rhys Chatham: “Prayer for the People of Fukushima”

Part Two:

33. Prefuse 73: “The Only Climactic Dissonant Hums”
34. Growing: “Untitled”
35. James Plotkin (of Khanate): “Broken ’96”
36. Totem Test: “Pulse Prayer for Japan”
37. Marcus Schmickler (of Pluramon): “2.71828 Up”
38. Tim Hecker: “Hatred of Music (Double Gate Mix)”
39. Sylvain Chauveau: “Colours in Darkness”
40. Bear In Heaven: “The Days We Have”
41. Spires That In The Sunset Rise with
Michael Zerang
: “Collision Theory”
42. C. Spencer Yeh: “Solo Violin March 13th 2011”
43. Lau Nau: “Oi Kuolema”
44. Oren Ambarchi: “Merely A Portmanteau”
45. Warm Ghost: “Uncut Diamond (Dripping Pollen Mix)”
46. Bradley & Geofrey (Atlas Sound + White Rainbow): “Mr.
Stephen’s Private Service”
47. Peter’s House Music: “Half Step”
48. Leb Laze: “Da Plane Da Plane”
49. Matthewdavid: “Stop Laughing / Be Honest”
50. Sam Prekop: “Lakes
51. Simon Scott: “Of You (Before 2082)”
52. Tetuzi Akiyama/Jon Mueller/Jim Schoenecker: “Untitled”
53. Shelley Burgon: “Let It Be New”
54. Giant Sand: “Recovery Mission”
55. William Tyler: “Tears and Saints”
56. Mountains: “Still Life”
57. Ben Vida: “Quadsweep +2 (snkglazz iii)”
58. Maria Chavez: “Natural Disaster #2_2011”
59. Cleared: “Nova”
60. Neptune: “FIG IV”
61. Water Fai: “Tokitomori”
62. Parts & Labor: “Dokonimonai”
63. Jackie-O Motherfucker: “Blood of Life”

64. Greg Davis: “Sho
Sai Myo Kichijo Dharani”



Leave a Reply