Incoming: New Broken Bells EP


Followup to
acclaimed 2010 full length.


By Blurt Staff


James Mercer and Brian Burton a/k/a Danger Mouse, collectively
known as Broken Bells, will issue a four-song EP titled Meyrin Fields on March 29. The EP features the previously
unreleased tracks “Windows” and “Heartless Empire,” as well
as “An Easy Life” and the title track. Meyrin Fields is the followup to Broken Bells’ 2010 Grammy-nominated
self-titled debut. NPR will premiere the track “Windows” beginning
March 7.

Broken Bells’ self titled debut album has sold  over 300,000 copies
domestically since its March 9, 2010 Columbia  Records release, nearly
50,000 of which were moved in its first week- landing the record at #7 on the
Billboard 200. In addition to being 2010’s highest charting debut album by
 an alternative/rock band,  Broken
generally received overwhelmingly positive critical reception.

Broken Bells’ genesis can be traced back to longtime mutual fans Burton and Mercer first face to face meeting at the 2004
Roskilde Festival in Copenhagen.
The pair immediately hit it off and kept in touch until May 2008 when the
finally seized the opportunity to finally collaborate on original music
together. Meyrin Fields is the
 latest product of this amazing union, which will continue to record
 and tour together for the foreseeable future.


Leave a Reply