Blurt at SXSW: Showcase + Day Parties

 

 

Official
Showcase Thursday night –  St. Paddy’s Day bash w/Second Motion Records at the
Continental Club: Latebirds, K’s Choice, Ian Moore, David Garza, Jon Langford,
Scott Biram. Plus lots more all week long….

 

By Blurt Staff

 

We are extremely excited to officially announce our
2011 SXSW Showcase partnership with our good friends at Second Motion
Records!  This year’s showcase will be our best yet as we are hosting it
at the legendary Continental Club on Thursday night, St Patrick’s Day! 
Below is the line-up and times. 

 

Please come early as we are expecting a full house
all night long and as always in Austin/SXSW, entry is based on a first-come,
first-serve basis. We’ll also have copies of the brand-new issue of BLURT, hot
off the presses.

 

 

Blurt Magazine/Second Motion Official SXSW Showcase

The Continental Club

1315
S. Congress Ave

Austin, TX 78704

 

8pm: The Latebirds

9pm: K’s Choice

10pm: Ian Moore

11pm: David
Garza

12am: Jon
Langford & Skull Orchard

1am: Scott
H Biram

 

 

 

We are also co-sponsoring several day parties during
SXSW. More details to come but here is the kick-ass lineup for some of the
parties we are involved with so far:

 

GINGERMAN PUB

301
Lavaca St

Austin, TX 78701

 

THURSDAY:

1-1:35  Ryan Schmidt – http://www.myspace.com/aboutschmidt

1:55-2:30  Cliff Hillis – www.cliffhillis.com

2:50-3:30  Lydia Loveless – www.myspace.com/lydialoveless

4:00-4:30  Jon Langford and the Skull Orchard (from The Mekons) –
http://www.myspace.com/jonlangfordskullorchard

4:45-5:15  The Waco Bros (members of The Mekons) –
http://wacobrothers.com/wb/

5:45-6:25  Hoots and Hellmouth – www.hootsandhellmouth.com

7:00-7:40  Exene Cervenka (from ‘X’) – www.exenecervenka.com

8:00-8:40  Kingsley Flood – www.kingsleyflood.com

9:00-9:40  Mean Creek – www.myspace.com/meancreek   

10:00-10:40  Ha Ha Tonka – www.hahatonkamusic.com   

11:00-11:40 Eatliz – www.eatliz.com  
 
12:00-12:40 Whitey Morgan and the 78’s – http://www.myspace.com/whiteymorgan

FRIDAY:

1-1:40  The BellRays – www.thebellrays.com   

2:00-2:40  Richard Barone (from The Bongos, w/special guests Peter Buck
from REM, and Vanessa Hay & Michael from Pylon who will do ‘Cool’ by Pylon as finale) – www.richardbarone.com  

3:10-3:50  The Fleshtones – www.fleshtones.org   

4:20-5:00  Steve Wynn and the Miracle 3 –
http://www.myspace.com/stevewynnthemiracle3  

5:20-6:00  The Baseball Project (members of REM, Young Fresh Fellows,
Dream Syndicate) – www.thebaseballproject.com   

6:30-7:15  Mike Watt (Iggy Pop and the Stooges, The Minutemen, fIREHOSE) – www.mikewatt.com   

7:40-8:20  LITE (instrumental virtuosos from Japan) –
http://www.myspace.com/liteband  

8:50-9:30  The Bluebonnets (Kathy from The GoGo’s) –
http://www.kathyvalentine.com/  

10:00-10:40  Supercluster (Vanessa from Pylon, Bob Hay from The Squalls) – http://www.superclusterband.com/  

11:00-11:40  Casper and the Cookies (buzz band from Athens GA) –
http://www.casperfandango.com/  

12:10-12:50 Flash To Bang Time (Lynda Stipe, Michael’s sister, from OH OK) – http://www.myspace.com/flashtobangtime  

SATURDAY:

1-1:40  David Wax Museum – www.davidwaxmuseum.com   

2:00-2:40  Muck and the Mires – www.muckandthemires.com   

3:00-3:40  Parallax Project – www.parallaxproject.com   

4:00-4:40  Gram Rabbit – www.gramrabbit.com   

5:00-5:40  Colourslide – www.myspace.com/colourslide   

6:00-6:40  Evaline – http://www.myspace.com/evaline  

7:00-7:40  Blackbells – http://www.myspace.com/blackbellsband  

8:00-8:50  Jimmy Gnecco (of OURS) – www.jimmygnecco.com   

9:00-9:40  Locksley – www.locksley.com   

10:00-10:40  The Latebirds – www.latebirds.com   

11:00-11:40 Girls Guns and Glory – www.girlsgunsandglory.com   

12:00-12:40  Eddie Spaghetti (The Supersuckers) –
http://www.bloodshotrecords.com/artist/eddie-spaghetti  

 

***

 

And we are also excited to once again be a co-sponsor with our
good friends at Bloodshot Records and their annual day party at the Yard Dog:

 

Bloodshot Records annual SXSW Yard Dog Party
1510 S.
Congress, Austin
TX

Friday
March 18, 2011

12 noon – 12:20  Carolyn Mark with The Jack Grace Band
12:30 – 1:00    Ben Weaver
1:10 – 1:40     Maggie Bjorklund with Cobirds Unite
1:50 – 2:20     Lydia Loveless
2:30 – 3:00     Exene Cervenka
3:10 – 3:40     Whitey Morgan & the 78s
3:50 – 4:10     Freakwater
4:20 – 4:50     Eddie Spaghetti
5:00 – 5:30     Ha Ha Tona
5:40 – 6:30     Waco Brothers

 

(links to the above musicians at the Bloodshot artists page)

Party sponsored by Rolling Rock and Blurt
Savory and sweet pies by Dangerously Delicious Pies

 

***

 

More to come! And hope to see you in Austin.

 

 

Leave a Reply