Nick Lowe Goes Into “Labour”

1979 classic adds a
bonus track plus deluxe packaging.


By Blurt Staff


On March 15, Yep Roc will
reissue Nick Lowe’s landmark second solo album ‘Labour of Lust’ on CD, LP, and for the first time, digitally.
Originally released in 1979, and out of print for nearly two decades, the album
has been remastered to its original glory and now includes both the U.K.-only
track “Endless Grey Ribbon” and the U.S.-only track “American
Squirm,” along with the bonus B-Side “Basing Street.” The reissue also
comes with a 12-page booklet complete with artwork by revolutionary graphic
artist Barney Bubbles, and essays by noted music journalist Will Birch and
reissue producer (and former Lowe A&R man) Greg Geller.


Hailed by Trouser Press as “a brilliant
piss-taker that pairs sprightly pop and savage lyrical wit,” ‘Labour of Lust’ also contains Nick
Lowe’s biggest hit to date, the album opener “Cruel To Be Kind.” The
song climbed the charts on both sides of the Atlantic, reaching #12 in the U.S.


The Yep Roc reissue also upgrades the
album’s original sleeve notes, properly crediting the special guests–Elvis
Costello (vocals on “American Squirm”), Huey Lewis (harmonica on
“Born Fighter”), Pete Thomas of The Attractions (drums on
“American Squirm”), and Bob Andrews of The Rumour/Brinsley Schwarz
(Oberheim synthesizer on “Endless Grey Ribbon”)–who performed
alongside the other members of Lowe’s band Rockpile (guitarist/vocalist Dave
Edmunds, guitarist Billy Bremner, and drummer Terry Williams).


The ‘Labour of Lust’ release follows Yep
Roc’s 2008 reissue of Nick Lowe’s first solo album ‘Jesus of Cool. Lowe is currently working on a follow-up to 2007’s ‘At My Age.’


‘Labour of Lust’

1. Cruel To Be Kind
2. Cracking Up
3. Big Kick, Plain Scrap
4. American Squirm
5. Born Fighter
6. You Make Me
7. Skin Deep
8. Switch Board Susan
9. Endless Grey Ribbon
10. Without Love
11. Dose of You
12. Love so Fine
Bonus Track:
13. Basing Street




Leave a Reply