Jason Isbell Preps New Album for April

Second album with The
400 Unit and third album overall for the acclaimed Southern rocker.


By Blurt Staff


Blurt fave Jason Isbell, along with his ace band The 400
Unit, has set an April 12th release for Here
We Rest
, their second studio full-length (and Isbell’s third overall since
leaving the Drive-By Truckers). As with 2009’s self-titler – which notched an
unprecedented ten-star review and figured high on our year-end best-of list for
2009 –  it will be issued by Lightning
Rod Records.


An Alabama
native, Isbell comes from a tradition of Southern music. He proudly embraces
his roots, which shine through in his songs and even in the title of the new
album. Here We Rest was Alabama’s original
motto. However, instead of resting comfortably within its boundaries, Isbell,
along with keyboardist Derry deBorja,
guitarist Browan Lollar, drummer Chad Gamble and bassist Jimbo Hart transcend
them. From the soulful heartache of “We’ve Met” and “Save It For Sunday” to the
country-infused folk of “Alabama Pines” and “Daisy Mae” to the old school
R&B of Candi Staton’s “Heart On A String”, Here We Rest is steeped the best of southern American music.


Here We Rest was
produced by Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit and recorded at the legendary Fame
Studios in Muscle Shoals, AL and at The NuttHouse in Sheffield, AL. Jason
Isbell & The 400 Unit will be previewing the Here We Rest during South By
Southwest in Austin, TX on  March 17th. A full tour will
follow the April release.


Track Listing:


1.) Alabama

2.) Go It Alone

3.) We’ve Met

4.) Codeine

5.) Stopping By

6.) Daisy Mae

7.) The Ballad Of Nobeard

8.) Never Could Believe

9.) Heart On A String

10.) Save It For Sunday

11.) Tour Of Duty




Leave a Reply