Mountain Goats Announce Album for Merge

Something about Liza Minnelli and Morbid Angel too…?!?


By Blurt Staff


The Mountain Goats have
confirmed the March 29 release of ‘All
Eternals Deck,’
their debut album for Merge Records. As with their last
album, ‘The Life of the World To Come,’ the group treated the recording sessions as commando raids on several studios
with a few different producers: four songs at North Carolina’s Fidelitorium
with John Congleton; one at Q Division in Boston with Brandon Eggleston; four
at Brooklyn’s Mission Sound with Scott Solter; and four at Mana Recording
Studios in Florida, with former Morbid Angel guitarist and current Hate Eternal
helmsman Erik Rutan.


Describing the album,
Darnielle writes, “If you have ever watched say a 70s occult-scare movie
where one of the scenes involves a few people visiting a storefront fortune teller,
getting their cards read, and then trying to feel super-hopeful about their
predicted outcome when what they’re visibly actually feeling is dread, then you
have a pretty decent idea of what the album is all about.” He elaborates,
“Other possible points of reference include ‘Burnt Offerings,’ ‘Go Ask
Alice,’ and that one scene in ‘The Warriors’ where they’re on the train and the
sun’s coming up and they’re safe but you know the scars are permanent


Read more from Darnielle





1. Damn These Vampires

2. Birth of Serpents

3. Estate Sale Sign

4. Age of Kings

5. The Autopsy Garland

6. Beautiful Gas Mask

7. High Hawk Season

8. Prowl Great Cain

9. Sourdoire Valley

10. Outer Scorpion Squadron

11. For Charles Bronson

12. Never Quite Free

13. Liza Forever Minnelli




Leave a Reply