Listen: New R.E.M. Xmas Songs

One Xmas song, one
teaser for the new album comprise this year’s holiday single. Meanwhile the band has unveiled the tracklisting, plus a tune, from the upcoming album Collapse Into Now.


By Blurt Staff


Over at the most excellent Cover Me Songs blog they’ve
posted the two tracks
comprising the annual R.E.M. fanclub-only holiday single.
The band’s been doing it for some time now, and this year they decided to
tackle the old Darlene Love chestnut “Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)” which
has been covered widely over the years by artists as diverse as U2, Dion, the
Raveonettes, Death Cab for Cutie and Mariah Carey.


The flipside to the single is cryptically titled “IHT>U>EDIYTW
(Dubmix)” which we learn is actually an instrumental mix of three songs (“It Happened Today,” “Uberlin,” “Every Day Is Yours To Win”) slated to appear in finished form on the upcoming R.E.M.
album, their 15th studio release, recorded with producer Jacknife
Lee and due March 7. Check both Xmas tracks, below.


Meanwhile that album, titled Collapse Into Now, has a tracklisting:

01 Discoverer
02 All the Best
03 Uberlin
04 Oh My Heart
05 It Happened Today [ft. Eddie Vedder]
06 Every Day Is Yours to Win
07 Mine Smell Like Honey
08 Walk It Back
09 Alligator Aviator Autopilot Antimatter [ft. Peaches and Lenny Kaye]
10 That Someone Is You
11 Me, Marlon Brando, Marlon Brando and I
12 Blue [ft. Patti Smith]

The band has “Discoverer” for download for your listening edification at their official website.




Christmas (Baby Please Come Home by Cover Me

02 – IHT->U->EDIYTW (Dubmix) by Cover Me

Leave a Reply