New Girl Talk LP: Free Download, Now

 

Quite a civilized thing to do.
Quite. Tracks, tour dates listed below.

 

By Blurt Staff

 

Girl Talk –  Gregg Gillis – fifth album All Day is
available soon. So soon, in fact, that… waitaminnit, it’s here RIGHT NOW!.

 

And for free. He’s got it posted at his label Illegal Art’s website for
free download

 

http://illegal-art.net/allday

 

According to Illegal art, “There are no strings attached to this free
download – no email address needed, no potential donation, or anything of that
nature, and it will remain this way indefinitely.” See the tracklisting, plus
tour dates, below. Here’s some additional info on the album:

 

“It’s his most epic, densely layered, and meticulously composed musical
statement to date.  Continuing the saga from the previously acclaimed
albums, Night
Ripper
and Feed The Animals, Gillis lays down a more diverse range of
samples to unfold a larger dynamic between slower transitions and extreme
cut-ups.  With the grand intent of creating the most insane and complex
pop collage album ever heard, large catalogs of both blatantly appropriated
melodies and blasts of unrecognizable fragments were assembled for the ultimate
Girl Talk record (clocking in at 71
minutes and 373
samples).

 

“Earlier this year, Girl Talk finally took a break from touring,
festival dates, and college shows, in order to create this album that is now
being released immediately after its completion.  While posting the album
as a free download on the Illegal Art label’s site allows All Day to
reach his fan-base quickly and with minimal cost, Gillis spent more time on
this album than any previous release and considers it the most fully realized
and evolved manifestation of the Girl Talk aesthetic.”

 

 

Track Listing:

 

01. Oh No

02. Let It Out

03. That’s Right

04. Jump on Stage

05. This Is the Remix

06. On and On

07. Get It Get It

08. Down for the Count

09. Make Me Wanna

10. Steady Shock

11. Triple Double

12. Every Day

 

Tour Dates:

Fri. 12/3/10 – Pittsburgh,
PA @ Stage AE

Sat. 12/4/10 – Pittsburgh,
PA @ Stage AE

Fri. 12/31/10 – Milwaukee,
WI @ The Rave

Wed. 01/05/11 – Cleveland,
OH @ House of Blues

Thu. 01/06/11 – Columbus,
OH @ LC Pavillion

Fri. 01/07/11 – Covington, KY @ Madison
Theater

Sat. 01/08/11 – Louisville,
KY @ Expo Five

Mon. 01/10/11 – New Orleans,
LA @ House of Blues

Thu. 01/13/11 – Houston,
TX @ House of Blues

Fri. 01/14/11 – Austin, TX @
Austin Music
Hall

Sat. 01/15/11 – Dallas,
TX @ Palladium

Mon. 01/17/11 – Memphis,
TN @ Minglewood Hall

Tue. 01/18/11 – St. Louis,
MO @ The Pageant

Thu. 01/20/11 – Birmingham,
AL @ Workplay

Fri. 01/21/11 – Atlanta,
GA @ Tabernacle

Sat. 01/22/11 – Charleston,
SC @ Gaillard Municipal
Auditorium

Mon. 01/24/11 – Knoxville,
TN @ Valarium

Tue. 01/25/11 – Charlotte,
NC @ The Fillmore

Thu. 01/27/11 – Raleigh,
NC @ Disco Rodeo

Fri. 01/28/11 – Norfolk,
VA @ NorVa

Sat. 01/29/11 – Richmond,
VA @ The National

Mon. 01/31/11 – Baltimore, MD @ Ram’s Head

Tue. 02/01/11 – Washington,
D.C. @ 9:30 Club

Fri. 02/04/11 – Philadelphia,
PA @ Electric Factory

Sat. 02/05/11 – Montclair,
NJ @ Wellmont Theatre

Thu. 02/24/11 – New York,
NY @ Terminal 5 (SOLD OUT)

Fri. 02/25/11 – Providence, RI @ Lupo’s

Sat. 02/26/11 – Boston,
MA @ House of Blues

Mon. 02/28/11 – Portland,
ME @ State Theater

Mon. 03/01/11 – Montreal,
QC @ Metropolis

Thu. 03/03/11 – Royal Oak, MI @ Royal Oak
Music Hall

Fri. 03/04/11 – Chicago,
IL @ Congress Theater

Mon. 03/07/11 – Madison,
WI @ Orpheum

Tue. 03/08/11 – Minneapolis,
MN @ First Ave

Fri. 03/11/11 – Denver,
CO @ Ogden Theatre

Mon. 03/14/11 – Missoula, MT @ Wilma
Theater

Tue. 03/15/11 – Seattle,
WA @ Showbox

Thu. 03/17/11 – Portland,
OR @ Roseland

Fri. 03/18/11 – Oakland,
CA @ Fox Theater

Sat. 03/19/11 – Pomona,
CA @ Fox Theatre

Mon. 03/21/10 – Los Angeles,
CA @ Palladium

Tue. 03/22/10 – San Diego,
CA @ SOMA

Wed. 03/23/10 – Tempe,
AX @ Marquee

 

 

[Photo Credit:
Christos Schizas]

 

 

Leave a Reply