MP3 Premiere: Mike Watt/Floored By Four



Song “Miss Yuka” (as in,
Yuka Honda) taken from the band’s self-titled debut, out next week.


By Fred Mills


So if you’ve picked up the new issue of BLURT (the one with
Of Montreal’s Kevin Barnes and Janelle Monae on the cover), you’ve no doubt
spotted the glowing review of the new CD from Floored By Four – aka
Minutemen/Stooges bassist Mike Watt, Wilco guitarist Nels Cline, Cibo Matto
keyboardist Yuka Honda and in-demand avant-garde percussionist Dougie Browne.
Offers our astute reviewer, of the Floored
By Four


“[They] make with the
atonal jazz-soul noise and roll with furious funk. Four songs singularly named and
composed by the bassist for each of the quartet’s members, the Floored By Four started
as Watt’s “New York
project,” and wound up as a testament to their shared love of Krautrock,
Captain Beefheart and latter-day Miles Davis, with some Stax stuff thrown in as
a good luck rabbit’s (good) foot. Add to the grueling groove and the simmering
avant-soul the stop-and-start complexity of four improvisational-ists at the
top of their games.”


The rec’s officially released by Chimera Music next week,
and we’ve got an MP3 premiere clip right here for you to get you started. Check
it out. You’ll be glad you did.


Floored By Four – Miss Yuka




Leave a Reply