McCartney/Wings BOTR for Deluxe Reish


How does a four-disc edition sound to ya?


By Blurt Staff


Nov. 2 brings a deluxe
reissue of Paul McCartney & Wings’ 1973 classic Band on the Run (MPL/Concord Music Group). Band on the Run marks the first release from the Paul McCartney Archive Collection and it will essentially
supplant Capitol’s 1999 two-CD, specially packaged limited edition of the album
– although collectors might be advised to hang onto their copies of the latter,
as there was a slew of content (see it at this link) that apparently is not going
to be included on the new edition.


Overseen by Sir Paul along
with the same team of Abbey Road studios wizards who remastered the Beatles’
back catalog, it will be available in a variety of formats originating with the
single disc digitally remastered, essential 9-track standard edition. The 3 disc (2CD, 1 DVD) special edition features nine bonus audio tracks (including the
top 10 smash “Helen Wheels”), rare footage of the McCartneys in Lagos
and behind-the-scenes at the famous album cover shoot, original Band on the Run promotional video
clips, the One Hand Clapping television special (highlighted by studio
performances filmed at Abbey Road in 1974) all with beautifully enhanced



Collectors will gravitate towards the 4 disc (3CD, 1 DVD) deluxe edition which adds a 120-page
hard bound book containing many unseen and unpublished photos by Linda
McCartney and Clive Arrowsmith, album and single artwork, downloadable hi-res
audio versions of the remastered album and bonus audio tracks, a full history
of the album complete with a new interview with Paul and expanded track by
track information for all four discs. The deluxe edition also includes a
special Band on the Run audio documentary (originally produced for the 25th Anniversary edition.) 
The original remastered album and bonus audio content will also be issued in a
2 disc 180gm audiophile vinyl edition
that comes with an MP3 download of all 18 tracks. Lastly, the standard and
deluxe versions of Band on the Run will be available digitally


Remastered Album
1. Band on the Run           
2. Jet             
3. Bluebird         
4. Mrs Vandebilt         
5. Let Me Roll It        
6. Mamunia           
7. No Words             
8. Picasso’s Last Words (Drink to Me)     
9. Nineteen Hundred and Eighty Five   

Bonus Audio Tracks
1. Helen Wheels
2. Country Dreamer
3. Bluebird [from One Hand Clapping]
4. Jet [from One Hand Clapping]
5. Let Me Roll It [from One Hand Clapping]
6. Band on the Run [from One Hand Clapping]
7. Nineteen Hundred and Eighty Five [from One Hand Clapping]
8. Country Dreamer [from One Hand Clapping]
9. Zoo Gang

Audio Documentary
Remastered documentary disc originally produced for the 25th Anniversary
release of Band on the Run.  Featuring interview contributions from Paul
McCartney, Linda McCartney, Denny Laine, Geoff Emerick, Tony Visconti, Al
Coury, Clive Arrowsmith, James Coburn, John Conteh, Kenny Lynch, Michael
Parkinson, Christopher Lee, Clement Freud, and Dustin Hoffman.

1. Band on the Run Music
2. Mamunia Music
3. Album
Featuring Band on the Run, Mrs Vandebilt, Nineteen Hundred and Eighty Five,
4. Helen Wheels Music
5. Wings In Lagos

6. Osterley Park
7. One Hand Clapping



Leave a Reply