More Record Store Day Goodies Announced


It’s April 17, duh…
Flaming Lips, Pavement, Sonic Youth, Thermals, Cribs, Superchunk, Let’s Wrestle, Soundgarden… the list
keeps growing.


By Blurt Staff



Flaming Lips and Stardeath and the White Dwarfs will see the first physical release of their album covering Pink Floyd’s classic,
Dark Side Of The Moon on Record Store Day 2010, to be released by Warner Bros
on 12″ seafoam green vinyl.

The UK’s much-celebrated, David Bowie-championed Fanfarlo will release a
7″-single, “You Are One,” and original tune b/w Fleetwood Mac’s
fantastic,”What Makes You Think You’re The One,” which the band recorded
exclusively for the Record Store Day 7″ during a day off in Berlin,

Indie rock trailblazers, Pavement will release a special Record Store
Day version of their double album, Quarantine the Past: The Best of Pavement, a
fully re-mastered 23-track compilation featuring tracks spanning their career
from 1989 to 1999. This limited  edition pressing features the track
listing submitted by a contest-winning fan, and chosen by the band.

Sonic Youth
make it back again for
Record Store Day with vinyl reissues of their classic early albums, Confusion
Is Sex, (on 12″ white vinyl), EVOL (on 12″ pink vinyl), and an Interscope
release of Hits Are For Squares,  a double-LP featuring 15 tracks selected
by other artists with an exclusive new Sonic Youth track, “Slow

Fans can also expect Coconut Records to release a 7″, which includes the
“Bored To Death Theme Song”/”Nighttiming”, a split 7″ from Kill
Rock Stars
featuring “Separate” from The Thermals and “So Hot Now”
from The Cribs, If I Had A Hi-Fi, a new album from Nada Surf being
released on CD exclusively for Record Store Day about 4 weeks prior to general
release, and a vinyl reissue of TV On The Radio’s Dear Science with mp3
download and a bonus Hot Chip remix on 12″ vinyl, among many other
titles TBA.


Merge will also join in the celebration with the release of three exclusive 7-inch from Telekinesis,
Superchunk, and a split 7″ with The Love Language & Let’s

Superchunk – “Misfits and Mistakes” b/w “Misfits and Mistakes” (Meatwad
Originally released in 2007 in extremely limited quantity, “Misfits and
Mistakes” is the first and only picture disc we have ever produced. Recorded for
Aqua Teen Hunger Force Colon Movie Film for Theaters, “Misfits and
Mistakes” is performed by Superchunk and covered on side B by Meatwad himself! 
Each 7-inch picture disc arrives in stores autographed by all four members of
Superchunk and is available at a special price exclusively for Record Store

Telekinesis – “Dirty Thing” b/w “Non-Toxic” & “The
This is the first new music from Telekinesis since their 2009 Merge debut,
Telekinesis!, which was described by NPR Monitor Mix’s Carrie Brownstein
as “perfectly crafted and utterly gleeful.” These three tracks will be available
on 7-inch vinyl only!

Let’s Wrestle / The Love Language – “I’m So Lazy” b/w “Brittany’s Back
(demo version)”
With this split 7-inch created exclusively for Record Store Day, we
introduce two exciting new Merge bands: Let’s Wrestle and The Love Language!
Featuring brand new songs from both bands, these tracks will be available on
7-inch vinyl only!

Last, but not least,  Sub Pop will
release a slew of great stuff for Record Store Day 2010, including the live
compilation Casual Nostalgia Fest recorded in 2008, during the label’s 20th anniversary celebratory festival SP20
in Seattle. The comp features choice cuts (19 tracks in all) from performances
at the festival, including tunes from Iron & Wine, Green
River, Low, Flight of the Conchords, the Vaselines, Wolf Parade,
and Blitzen Trapper.

For Record Store Day 2010, Sub Pop will also reissue Soundgarden’s 1987
debut single “Hunted Down” b/w “Nothing to Say”, on orange
translucent vinyl, as well as The Album Leaf’s There Is a Wind 12″
featuring two new songs with two alternate takes of tracks from the band’s last
album and CocoRosie’s “Lemonade” 7″, which includes one track
from the band’s forthcoming Sub Pop debut, as well as a cover of the Beach
Boys’ “Surfer Girl”.
Stay tuned for more exclusive Record Store Day 2010 releases in the coming

For more information:



Leave a Reply