Frightened Rabbit Hops Back in March


Hotly tipped indie
band to drop new album next March on FatCat.


By Blurt Staff


From the insistent synth buzz that rings throughout album
opener, “Things,” to the mechanical onslaught that introduces the
six-minute centerpiece, “Skip The Youth,” Frightened Rabbit’s The Winter Of Mixed Drinks, due March 9 on FatCat Records, is the band’s exploration into new sonic and
thematic terrain. Recorded by Scott
Hutchison (vocals/guitar), brother Grant Hutchison (drums), Billy Kennedy
(guitar) and Andy Monaghan
(guitar/bass/keys), the Scottish lads are now bolstered by fifth member Gordon Skene (formerly of Make Model),
who has joined the band to facilitate this new material and flesh out the older
tunes live.


The fivesome, who are currently breaking in their new member
as they crisscross Scotland
on tour, will conclude the year with a hometown headlining show in Glasgow following a handful of dates opening for Modest
Mouse in the UK and Ireland. They
will return to the U.S.
for SXSW in March followed by a headline tour and festival appearances.

The follow-up to their sophomore album, The Midnight Organ Fight, The Winter
Of Mixed Drinks
comes after nearly two years of incessant touring of both Europe and the States. In April of 2009, frontman Scott
Hutchison sought isolation and decamped to the beautiful seaside town of Crail on Scotland’s
Fife coastline to decompress and write the new
record. There, he conjured up lead single, “Swim Until You Can’t See
Land” which set the course for the theme of the album and inspires the
nautical imagery that permeates the album. “‘Swim Until You Can’t See
Land’  takes up where we left off and is central to the new record,”
reveals Scott.

Produced and mixed once again by Peter Katis at Tarquin Studios in Connecticut, and recorded by Stuart Hamilton at
Castlesound Studios in Scotland,
The Winter Of Mixed Drinks sees the band transistioning from jangly
indie-folk to a more expansive sound. The 11-song collection, filled with
stunning string arrangements (courtesy of labelmate Hauschka), majestic keys
and glitchy electronics, is a more ambitious and confident album than its


“Most importantly, I’m happier with this record,”
proclaims Scott. “Sonically, it’s closer than ever to the way I’ve always
wanted Frightened Rabbit to sound.”

Whereas the heartbreaking dissolution of Scott’s longstanding relationship was
detailed on the previous album, he took a different approach to the song
writing for the follow-up. “I guess there’s still a main protagonist in
there but I feel like I’m telling a story this time, as opposed to exposing my
innards to the listener,” says Scott. Thoughout the album he ruminates on
mortality, celebrates recpatured freedom and explores the idea conveyed in
“Swim Until You Can’t See Land: “It’s all about losing your mind in
order to reset the mind and the body – forget what’s gone before and wash it



Track Listing:

1. Things
2. Swim Until You Can’t See
3. The Loneliness And The Scream
4. The Wrestle
5. Skip The Youth
6. Nothing Like You
7. Man/Bag of Sand
8. Foot Shooter
9. Not Miserable
10. Living In Colour
11. Yes, I Would





Leave a Reply